Rainbow Log (Grape Jelly Swiss Roll Cake)

Hi Guys!

How's your Saturday so far?

I worked today, yep, weekend shift. In honesty, I LOVE it. Weekends usually no people around, so I kind of get the whole place to myself and I can cough as loud as I want and/or need to 😝🤣🤣😝

Winter, cold and flu season is here, but with the pandemic, a slight cough or sneeze, make heads turn to you like you have a leper or something. It's horrible. Even to see family doctor (am not sure if I had mentioned it or not) for whatever reason, if you have a cough, even the slightest, it's a no. You need to be tested for Covid 19 first, then MAYBE you can be seen by your family doctor. It's a fucking terrible system, but nothing one can do. In other words, covid testing clinic is always packed with people who are with common cold/flu, not Covid 19 🤡

With Winter, air is so dry, sometimes I cough. On weekdays, I cannot really release a cough (I work right under a fan, so imagine, cold and dry air), but weekends, no one's around...HALLELUJAH! 😅

Anyone's got any idea when life can go back to normal again, you think? 🤔

Anyhoo!

For today's recipe it is not a vlog but a blog 😉 Whaaa....TKF has time to type? 🤣

It is for a Swiss Roll cake that I called it as Rainbow Log. It is a lazy kind of Swiss roll. You will see 🤣

photo_1638055706330.jpg

Ingredients For Cake:

75 grams AP flour
1-2 tbsp vanilla essence
110 grams castor sugar (superfine sugar)
3 eggs
Food coloring of your choice
Buttercream of your choice (OR lazy cream of mine below 🤣)
Grape jelly/jam (or other jam of your preference)

Ingredients For Quicky Cream:

Margarine
Nesquik chocolate syrup
Icing sugar (for enough sweetness)

Method For Cake:

  • Preheat oven 400 F. Grease and line a Swiss roll pan (rectangular pan) with wax or parchment paper.

  • Beat eggs, vanilla and sugar until creamy, foamy, and thickening

photo_1638055236091.jpg

  • Gently fold in flour then pour the batter onto prepared pan. Drop food colors all over and spread out batter. Bake for 5-8 minutes.

photo_1638055262802.jpg

photo_1638055290497.jpg

photo_1638055575474.jpg

  • Turn cake immediately onto a cake rack covered with a slightly damp tea towel.

photo_1638055599407.jpg

  • Peel off the cooking paper and roll nicely. Release roll and spread the sponge lightly with jelly/jam and roll back into a log

photo_1638055620606.jpg

  • Spread chocolate buttercream to form a log. Slice and serve (I love serving it chilled tho!)

Method For Cream:

  • Cream ingredients together

photo_1638055752714.jpg

Obviously you don't need the food colors. Blegh, who wants food color, chemical all over😜 But what is a rainbow log without colors, right. You can always use natural food coloring, if you like 😊

Take care guys!

Sort:  

The climate in my country changed. If it was before, it’s always dryer than it is. December has its cold weather but all seems to have been lost. Let me ask too. When are we gonna go back to normal ?😲
Btw, your meal is so colorful that I’m about to lick my screen 😬

PIZZA!
@thekitchenfairy! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

There's stuff that can be done. Most basic ones being gentle push back and malicious compliance :)

So much red and blue would be so bad for my youngest XD

he's gotten a lot better with it and knows how to manage so well now that he claims he's not affected by it anymore, doesn't realise I can still tell

It looks delicious!

Aah! Allergies?

Yeah, food colors arent so healthy, they just make baked goods prettier and catchy to the eyes

I tried using powdered natural food coloring. Sometimes they worked well, but other time meh 🤪

I always just referred to them as reactions because I associate food allergies with a very specific set of reactions but they could be food allergies XD

Some friends have said similar things about natural food colouring, a lot of the complaints are they're just not as bright.

looks so yummy and mouth watering.... even you explained it so nicely with picturation, i will surely try your recipe will let you know about it... thanks for sharing...
keep hiving...

Bon appetit. Looks so delicious.

In my country we call it a gypsy arm or brazo de gitano, I've only made it a couple of times because it has always been difficult for me, so I admire how well it has turned out. It is very attractive the effect that a little bit of splashed coloring gives to the cake.