Simple Cooking: Indonesian Grilled Fish (Ikan Bakar Sambal Kecap)

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 3 years ago

Hello, Hello, Hello!

How's your Sunday? Ours been nice. In the morning we went to farmers market. The last of the season, before Winter starts, so we really shopped til we dropped πŸ€ͺ

There was an Italian vendor that I stopped by at, just to look around. The guy was so friendly and fun. He was dancing and when I approached his table, he opened a box of biscotti and handed me one. I was like oh dammitt, now I really have to buy all the goodies on his table πŸ€ͺ Free stuff is awesome, but a thank you by buying something would make it even, right? So yep. I walked away with a box full of Italian pastry 🀣🀣🀣🀣

He was surprised and stunted a bit, when I spoke to him in Italian 😁 It was a nice day indeed at the farmers market, not to mention, a sunny breezy day! Yesterday was raining. Truly Autumn days we are having lately.

However, for sure today's share is a recipe. You know me 😜

Maybe the last of BBQ too, before Winter is here, which is in a month πŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺ

Here is Indonesian grilled fish!

20210911_140538_1631738052715.jpg

Fish of your choice (I used mackerel) - clean and then rubbed with tamarind juice (soak tamarind pulp in warm water to produce the juice)
2 candlenuts
3 garlic
1/2 of large onion
1/8 tsp heaping, ground coriander
1/8 tsp turmeric powder
1/4 tsp ginger powder
1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne powder
1-2 tsp sunflower oil
1-2 tsp lime juice
1-2 tsp sweet soy sauce
Salt to taste
Additional sweet soy sauce (watch the video)

Sambal Kecap (Sweet and Spicy Sauce)

Bird eye chilies, sliced, as many as you like
Shallots or onion, sliced, as much as you like
Lime juice to taste
Sweet soy sauce, as much as you like

Steps in the vid!

Sort: Β 

Yum XD

I'm pretty sure my mum makes some variation of this, and also a version without the sambal for those that can't eat/don't like sambal :D