Smoked Lamb Shoulder On Grilled Pita Breads

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 3 years ago

Good Morning!

Finally all the hardened snow, or ice rather, melted from front yard, or so I thought. Last night it snowed AGAIN, meh. So we woke up to all is white again πŸ˜…

We had some nice days though, that we could fire up the fire pit and BBQ as well. Kids were starting to enjoy their trampoline again, and also a little soccer.

I thought I could start planting the flower bulbs I got when ice finally melted, but nope, not yet πŸ˜… Still have to be patient. Hopefully by next weekend, those bulbs will be under ground by then, here is crossing fingers 🀞🀞🀞🀞

How's the weather on your end?

I had a nasty dream of the end of the world last night btw. The earth cracked open and the ocean dried up. But somehow I woke up feeling fresh this morning...that until I opened the blinds. All is white 🀣

Anyhoo.

I have a lamb recipe to share today. I did not make a video this time though. Just took a bunch of pictures. In my defense, my husband who was cooking while I was just helping teeny tiny bit πŸ˜† Lazy wife here, ladies and gents. Buuuuttt....it was our anniversary, so he was busy trying to please me πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

As I mentioned earlier, previous days were lovely that we could have BBQ, well yeah, this was it. BBQd lamb 😊 Well, we SMOKED the lamb (cough...husband did, I mean), instead bbqing (grilling) it, though. Our BBQ is a smoker too.

20210413_203628_1618762882093.jpg

Here is how it went down!

1 lamb shoulder (leg would be better, less fat, but shoulder would be juicier. So, up to you which one you'd prefer better)
A bag or two of pita bread (if you have boys like mine, they love snacking on grilled pita bread, so a bag won't be enough πŸ˜‰)
Tomatoes, sliced/diced
Tzatziki sauce
Samyang hot sauce (optional, I just love smothering it on my dish 🀣)
Cucumber, optional, but refreshing to munch on the side
1-2 box of mushrooms (white or cremini)
2 onions, purple preferably, quartered (more or less, depending how many mushrooms you'd like)

Marinade

1 tbsp whole black pepper
1/4 c mustard (dijon)
8 cloves of garlic
1/3 c lemon juice
1 c oil (grapeseed)
1/2 tbsp dry oregano
1/2 tbsp dry thyme
1 tbsp dry rosemary
2/3 c chopped green onion
2 tbsp coarse sea salt (more or less depending on how big your lamb is)

20210413_185055_1618762941553.jpg

Now, before we continue. I do have to mention you ought to have a meat thermometer. It helps big time because there will be bones on your lamb, and thick cut. So we want to be accurate, right? πŸ˜‰

Mix all marinade ingredients in food processor, and process into fine paste.
Thread mushrooms alternately with quartered onions on metal skewers.
Once marinade is ready, coat your lamb generously, and leave some of the marinade for the skewered goodies.

20210413_195247_1618763527048.jpg

Smoke the lamb first, not forgetting to insert meat thermometer on the thicker part of the lamb, until it reads 135 - 145 F

20210413_185119_1618763046233.jpg

Take out meat and let rest on counter for a bit, like 20-30 mins
Meanwhile, let's grill the mushrooms. 5 mins would be enough, but it's up to you how soften or cooked you'd like your veggies to be.
While mushrooms grilling, let's prepare our pita breads.

20210413_200054_1618763479710.jpg

Lay pitas on flat surface, brush each side with oil and sprinkle lightly (or generously, as you wish) with dry oregano.
Grill pitas for 3 mins

20210413_200132_1618763119050.jpg

Now to serve, as easy as slicing the lamb meat, place on pita, topped with mushrooms and onions, sauces of your preference, and devour.

20210413_202819_1618763168186.jpg

Bon appetit!

20210413_203702_1618763204063.jpg

(And whoa! I typed a lot today 🀣)

See you guys around πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›

Sort: Β 

i love lamb. so true @bighungrypanda i too am drooling. hahahaha
oh my gosh guys! this is so delicious. im a food lover myself. im so thankful my hubby too loves cooking. and so well i need to burn fats fast, because his cooking is so delicious. im going to share this with him and hopefully post his cooking too. thanks for sharing @thekitchenfairy

Fancy, This looks super interesting and so damn tasty i'm drooling already.

Hardly think you can call yourself lazy if you do most things most of the time XD

I'm going to assume the meal tasted as good as it looked :D

I wish my kids would go back out and enjoy their trampoline but they are lazy and the trampoline is also covered with leaves and a bit hard to clean off -_-

Weather here is uncertain, morning and night is cold and I need extra blankets or jumpers, and then sometimes the day is warm enough that I actually have to change to shorts (I don't like changing I'm lazy XD). Everything is generally pleasant though :)