Improving My Goat Cheese & Walnut Toast Recipe

Improved goat cheese toast with walnut and honey  recipe (1).jpg

Remember that goat cheese toast recipe I shared?

It's been an absolute favourite of mine since I tried that. I don't love the handling of the goat cheese when it's warmed up and scraping off the outer layer though, which I've been doing because I just like the taste better without that part. Whenever I get served goat cheese in a salad somewhere else, they don't bother to remove it, but at home, I do.

The initial trial recipe

The first times I made this, I had Melba toast with sesame seeds which I broke in half and then just roasted them in the pan while adding a slice of goat cheese on top to slowly warm it up. Goat cheese is so delicious when it's slightly warmed up if you ask me, but I see how some just don't like it. It's funny that my boyfriend really didn't like it at all and is now embracing the taste and really enjoys it when I make these toasts for lunch or a snack.

Leftover bread

I love bread with lots of seeds and I have a few favourite baguettes from supermarkets which I truly enjoy eating. Sadly, sometimes plans change during the day and then I get left with half or a whole bread and forget to put it in the freezer in time. This is something I can't stand, I hate food waste and this is always a perfect moment for me to just try and use this opportunity to put a nice snack on the table, after all, this is the land of tapas. These toasts are perfect to have the Spanish tapas vibe but in your own home! For this to be done, I usually have a roll of the goat cheese in the fridge, in case I have a bread that needs to be eaten before it's not tasty anymore.

Improved goat cheese toast with walnut and honey  recipe (4).jpg

What changed?

Instead of using the Melba toast, I'm now preferring the brown baguettes with seeds and roasting these the same way as the Melba toast. I don't add any olive oil or anything because I'm afraid it will trigger my boyfriend's stomach so I currently still roast it without adding any oil. I put the goat cheese on top and let it heat up slowly. Be careful not to burn the bread by turning up the heat!

Improved goat cheese toast with walnut and honey  recipe (3).jpg

Oops

By accident one of the slices fell upside down in the pan and then I discovered that this was a nice way of quickly heating the goat cheese as well as creating a delicious crispier layer on the cheese by using this technique. When taking out the slice with bread, the outer layer of the goat cheese is much easier to remove as well. It almost totally separates from the middle part that I love so much. I still use a knife to scrape off all the good stuff from that outer layer though, I don't like to waste any good cheese!

Improved goat cheese toast with walnut and honey  recipe (5).jpg

The finishing touch

When all the outer parts are removed, I divide the cheese nicely on every toast, add walnuts on top and I've learned that a little extra honey is what I like most. The first time I was a bit careful adding honey, now I'm making sure every bite has a nice balance of goat cheese, walnut and honey for a nice explosion of tastes!

Improved goat cheese toast with walnut and honey  recipe (2).jpg

Luna approves

When there's some food on the table, the cats usually have to smell it at least, sometimes they seem to be begging but don't even want to eat it. I think they just like joining us while we're eating at this point. Which is why I allow them to come and have a look if it doesn't mean the dinner table it all set but we're just having a lunch or snack only. I can understand how goat cheese is a bit of an odd smell for these cats and that it needs some investigating first.

Try it yourself..

Have you tried this goat cheese toast recipe yet? If not, you're missing out! It's absolutely amazing and you can keep it simple as I'm doing here, but of course you can go all in and add more ingredients.

Thanks for reading and let me know in the comments if you are a goat cheese lover or hater.. I'm curious :)


All pictures above are my own..

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Esto suena increíble. Ideal para compartir y la combinación queso de cabra miel y nueces debe ser alucinante. Gracias por tu receta

¡Lo prometo, la combinación es increíble!

This is so nice and lovely, for the cat to have perceived the smell and jump up to the table. I know this must have taken you so much time to get together, it worth every time spent. Am I permitted to join you on the table also??

The scraping off the edges of the goat cheese is most work, I don't like to do it but it's definitely worth it..

No food left sorry :)

Lol, I would be early next time. But I know you will be prepared for the stress since you want to enjoy the fun it has.

I´d love to try this at a later time, but I know 100% sure that my guy won´t try it, he´s a goat cheese hater. He loves all kinds of cheeses but goat cheese is the one he hates.

Well, mine was too but that didn't stop me from eating it :)
Just didn't offer it to him anymore when I knew he didn't like it. Until he started to try it again and changed his mind. I think you at the very least have to get used to it and then have the perfect combination with other ingredients..

I also saw a dish recently with brie on toast and caramelised onions, didn't try it yet but that looked like a bit of a similar taste explosion..

!LADY !LUV

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thisismylife, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @hetty-rowan and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

hetty-rowan, thisismylife sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Woow, this looks delicious 😍😍

It is, thanks :)

Just had to drop by and say that picture made me smile😊

Also, your toast looks amazing!!

!PIZZA

Hi there, then it was all worth it :)
The toast is so good, I swear if it's something you are allowed in your diet, please try it, I promise it's great!

!LADY !LUV

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thisismylife, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @generikat and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

generikat, thisismylife sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@generikat(3/15) tipped @thisismylife