New Grill Pan - Finally Some Homemade Grilled Veggies & Steak!

Grilled vegetables and steak.png

I love grilled food

This once started with some grilled steak a long time ago, and then I learned while having BBQ dinners in summer that everything just tastes better from the grill. Even something as simple a a chicken filet tastes way better when it's grilled instead of fried in a normal pan.

Kitchen utensils

Renting houses with kitchen utensils meant that in our first home here in Spain we didn't have any pans of our own and when we suddenly had to move to this new apartment that we also had to buy all these things ourselves because we surely didn't bring these from Hungary at the time. I assumed (idiot!) that it was cheaper to buy these new than sending another box of kitchen utensils for 30 euros to Spain. I was very wrong, lesson learned.

Set of pans

We bought a set of 3 cooking pans and a frying pan to start with and we didn't settle for the cheap stuff this time, my boyfriend wanted a certain typ of steel pan and did some good research in terms of price and quality. I personally don't love that one and often still grab the cheap coated one that came with the house as some things are a nightmare to prep in the steel pan and stick. I only had one wish: a grill pan. Yet I didn't find a decent one for a good price and I didn't need it immediately either, I was ok waiting until we saw one for a nice price.

Thanks LIDL!

Recently we were grocery shopping at LIDL and I noticed this pan which seemed of good quality and was only 15 euros while also having the right size I wanted. We took it home, knowing that LIDL is very flexible with returns in case at home it didn't meet our expectations.

Steak and sweet paprika from the grill pan (12).jpg

Steak and sweet paprika from the grill pan (13).jpg

My boyfriend loves a good steak (I do too but not that often and much as he does) but it seems to help him keep his stomach in check while I'm surely not made to eat too much meat because it will cause me issues and therefore I often prefer lighter stuff as chicken instead. OR vegetables because the best way to eat these is grilled, if you ask me at least.

Sweet paprika

The day before I bought these sweet paprika's that I noticed for the first time in the supermarket. I already ate them several times (grilled) when we were eating somewhere, and then 1 tiny paprika was added as the side dish (yes, they often leave out veggies here, lol) but damn, these can be so tasteful when they're grilled, I fell in love with them.

Now I had the perfect opportunity to eat them. My boyfriend added butter to the pan for his steak so that actually messed up my first round of grilled paprika but don't they look cute and green?

Steak and sweet paprika from the grill pan (18).jpg

I tried to clean up the butter as you can see but was too impatient as I don't know yet how high I should put the gas and wait before adding them to the grill at this point. It's trial and error until they are just perfect!

Steak and paprika for dinner!

It took a bit of time to get them right:

Steak and sweet paprika from the grill pan (5).jpg

That's just a matter of learning how to cook with the pan, but surely don't use that butter anymore (or at least a lot less, if you have to use it). My boyfriend enjoys the butter "sauce" so therefore he added that but we'll have to read up on this a bit more to find out if that's smart to keep doing or just stick to the grilling without it. The steak tasted well at least, so the first attempt turned out well.

Steak and sweet paprika from the grill pan (11).jpg

Not the prettiest, and not the best outcome yet but I ate them all either way as I was craving them like madness! This comes from someone who hated paprika most of her life, how one can change!

In the oven

I saw on the box that it can be placed in the oven until 200 degrees Celcius as well, I first thought the handle wasn't suitable for it but the box says it is so I'm going to see if that's a good option for some grilled food and dig into the information about how to properly use this thing on a gas stove (and possibly in the oven).

There's only one downside to this pan for me until now and that's the weight. I have a hard time handling it (especially when wanting to properly dry it after cleaning) and I'm so afraid it will fall one day, I hope it never happens..

Do you ever use a grill pan at home? What's your favourite food to prep with it?
Let me know in the comments please..

Happy Grilling :)


All pictures above are my own..

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I have propane gas BBQ to grill foods in the warmer times of the year. My family don't have steaks often since they are becoming more and more expensive. Foods do taste awesome cooked this way. I have a basic BBQ sauce made from scratch that is tweaked with different accents but none of those funny chemicals and preservatives in it.
I also have a wood burning BBQ grill using only local cedar wood, Deb loved the way the cedar aroma makes its way into the steaks and corncobs in times past.
😋

With steak I mean those that you buy at LIDL for 5-6 euro, and then it's just one because I never eat more than a few bites (if I eat it). The better steak meat we used to buy became too expensive imo and often not worth even half of the price. These are ok because when the cut is a bit less than normal at least it's "just" 5 euros wasted and my boyfriend just eats it anyway. I don't, I hate it when I get served a bad cut, so I rather have vegetables instead that are good than a bad cut of meat lol. #spoiled

I never tried making my own bbq sauce, that's probably because I don't eat that myself, but my boyfriend and kid love it. I should try that one day to rule out the ones from the supermarket.

Oh that cedar is great, I had that a few times somewhere I just don't remember where but it was SO good indeed!

Much !LUV to you !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thisismylife, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kerrislravenhill and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

kerrislravenhill, thisismylife sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

How is your day going?
!PIMP

Hey there, ok, what about you?

!PIMP

A little better so I can't complain! How are you holding up?
!PIZZA

Hey, I was so sleepy that I went to be early wasting my !PIMP votes lol...
We had an issue here yesterday, will write about it tomorrow..

I thought I might throw some !PIMP your way! How are you doing?

Thank you very much sir, I appreciate that! :)

I'm fed up with things that don't progress because of other people and feeling struck to the wall with some things. Today I cried from frustration and then decided well f it I will just focus on prepping dinner (in the morning) and so I did. Barely spent time behind the screen which was smart because I feel my arm is inflamed after a few days of too many hours sitting there.

Tomorrow they replace the airco in the living room and I think I will just go to the market for several hours to avoid the noise and maybe have breakfast somewhere before I worry about pushing people to do their job again, lol.

Better for my own sanity and I think soon these market days will be over because it's getting hotter really quick now..

How have you been though? Hopefully better?

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I hope you're all ok!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

😂 I have that same pan and I made grilled beef with mac& cheese and random vegetables I threw around. Unfortunately they are at my apartment and I have yet moving them. You really make me miss them cause I love grilled steaks and meat.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-06 at 19.51.19_21d17f14.jpg

Oh you just filled it up as far as you could haha, never tried that :)
I haven't had mac and cheese in forever either, getting hungry now, thanks!

I have some sweet paprikas and another few veggies left I will probably throw them in the grill later OR roast them in the oven, depends on how my back acts up lol. One is less handling :)

Hope you have your pan back soon!

😄hehe trying to make a balanced meal. I think it was my best investment so far with the portable gas too.

I think I agree in terms of pans because our stainless still frying pan was double the price but I find it hard to handle because of the size. Whenever we have just 1 piece of meat or two, it's bound to burn the butter and I hate that.

The grillpan is probably going to be my most used pan year round because 1 I can leave out the oil and butter and I just love the taste of grilled anything hahaha.. But last week I also threw a baking pan filled with veggies in the oven which turned out great too. Just had to remember to first add alu foil on top before going for that burned edge part :P

Wow, all your food looks like taken from a cook book! You must be a wonderful cook! It makes me drool! That looks delicious!!! COngrats on the new grill!!

!PIZZA !PGM !CTP !BBH !HUESO

Haha, I don't consider myself a wonderful cook, especially because many days I just can't be in the kitchen long enough to serve a proper meal because of my back issue acting up (in combination with a way too low kitchen which is not something I can solve in a rental).. But I think that I can put a proper dish on the table if I put some time and effort in it for sure.. I just can't do that 7 days a week at the moment sadly..

Thanks for stopping by and always supporting me on X as well, I noticed! !PIMP !PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @cpol.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Oh I see, those low kitchens are just a pain in the in the rear! I hear you! So sad to know about your back issues, but that meal look amazing! I even got the smell of it up here! You're welcome! My pleasure!

!PIZZA !PGM !CTP !BBH

@thisismylife! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @cpol. (3/50)

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 7/8
!LUV

@thisismylife! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @cpol. (1/50)

Awesome! I love my grill pan! I haven’t used it in a little bit in favor of the flat iron one but it’s great for all kinds of stuff like steak! Glad you get to enjoy one now!

I'm probably the only one going to use it because today my boyfriend took out the frying pan again for his steak lol. I don't mind though because we all have our preferences don't we?

Some days I can't handle standing in the kitchen (it's too low for me) and turning around veggies for half an hour or so, but putting them on a baking tray in the oven is a good second option this way I can prep it in the morning and only heat it up to get that little burn edge just before it's dinner time.

I had grilled chicken some days ago, oh my.. so good!

I sure do, but I tend to use the outdoor grill more especially in summer. Those work great indoors but can be messy I always found. You have to be careful with the amount of oil or butter to avoid it...

Those peppers look so yummy! I love peppers! Did they have much heat or just sweet?
!PIZZA
#freecompliments

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
thisismylife tipped cpol
@thebighigg(1/5) tipped @thisismylife (x2)
cpol tipped thisismylife (x2)

LoL me and my hubby love Lidl so much it's our favourite supermarket and we brought many cooking utensils here and eletreonic stuff 💕 by the way you renowned them grilling, good and we arw too grill lovers !😂 If you come to Tuscany we can organise a grilling day obviously we will buy beer and meat at the Lidl ❤️

If I do grilling, it's usually inside because it's either too hot or too cold out. I cook mine in a carbon steel pan, and it seems to work well.

Looks delicious, I’m a big fan of a grilling pan.
!pimp

Congratulations @thisismylife! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

It seems to me that all more or less decent grills are usually quite heavy, it takes some getting used to, but the cooking results are all advantages, well worth the effort.

I once read that there are changes in our palate every three years, maybe some of that has to do with your current love for peppers, but those are also delicious, no wonder they were one of your first choices to use the grill for the first time. Enjoy your meal!