You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In The Kitchen With Kat-Cereal Milk Infused Cupcakes

Gosh, they look very nice! I rarely eat cereal anymore since a documentary my boyfriend watched and told me those stupid cereals (regular though) you both eat so much, are insanely unhealthy. I started to see certain patterns after eating them (I ate them every morning with milk and some cocoa powder lol) and my boyfriend was the worst one affected, he often threw up.

I have them at home, the regulars but they are rarely touched. I try not to buy these colored / chocolate ones as I won't eat them and then my daughter will have to eat it all. Although she's still tiny and probably not going to have a bad response after eating them, I just avoid it for the longer term. This little dragon of mine has a serious fear of healthy food. Everything needs to be balanced out a bit, that's why I probably bake these banana bread more often than the usual mom, so we have an easy breakfast. She often refuses to eat bread now too, so it's turning into a tough cookie :)

I do admit that your foodies posts are inspiring me to try different twists and make these bakings more healthy (I know this one is not the best example lol) so thank you for that <3

Sort:  

You know what's funny, I don't like breakfast cereal much, and I rarely ever buy it(I usually make homemade for my crew), but this recipe was for a special occasion and they were super yummy, so I didn't feel too bad about eating them, even if sugary breakfast cereal is literally garbage food lol.

You and your boyfriend are so beyond smart for avoiding the stuff! I'm sorry he has such a reaction to them!

That said, I totally hear you about balance, and once in a great while I'll buy the kids some of the fun cereal. Most of the not healthy goodies on my blog are from celebrations, although sometimes we tend to have more celebration food than we should...

Since baking season is about to wrap up and I will be spending most of my time out in the garden and farming, and since I have been posting a lot of celebratory (and not so good for you) foodie posts, I am going to do a series of what I normally eat, which is mostly sugar and refined flour free.

And you have inspired me so much with your foodie posts, I can't wait to see more of them when you get all settled in Spain!