Sauteed Mung Bean Sprouts For Breakfast

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-764.jpg

Over the past few days, poultry and meat dishes have been on our table. Each time that we go outside fried dishes are our comfort food.

When I went to the market a few days ago I saw a stand selling some fresh mung bean sprouts. I usually see the old ones being used in the vegetable spring rolls, but for the freshly picked mung beans, I rarely encounter that.

I saw shrimp being sold hence when I secured the ingredients that I needed I decided to prepare sauteed mung bean sprouts.

THE INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 kilo of mung bean sprouts if possible, get the fresh one as it is sweeter.
  • 1 small size of carrots around 100g
  • 3 small pieces of tofu
  • 1/8 kilo of shrimp
  • 10 pieces of Chinese celery
  • 1 piece of onion
  • 3 pieces of garlic clove
  • 2 cups of water

PREPARATION

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-07-205.jpg

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-937.jpg

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-913.jpg

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-800.jpg

I still find myself taking pictures of myself preparing awkwardly. Usually, it is April who cuts the vegetables in our household, but since they are still sleeping and I am quite hungry already, I need to do it on my own.

Clean the mung bean sprouts in running water. For the tofu blocks, just cut them into smaller cubes as it is easier to cook rather than throwing the entire block in the cooking oil. I tried it before and the inner part of tofu remains uncooked. Peel the carrots and cut them into smaller strips (julienne) I did try to make it that way but never succeeded. When I got frustrated, I cut it into smaller bits some were in cubes, and some were in strips 😀😀.

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-07-087.jpg

I bought a new mortar and pestle in the market previously for a hundred pesos. The shrimps were small hence rather than removing the heads one by one I decided to pound them to extract the juice and include it in the mixture.

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-869.jpg

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-07-168.jpg

It is nearing seven in the morning. Breakfast has not yet been prepared. I threw the tofu in the oil that I preheated around six to eight minutes and while waiting for it I used the other side of the burner to saute all of the vegetables. I started with garlic, then onion, carrots, and after the mung bean sprouts.

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-880.jpg

For added aroma and taste I added the Chinese celery and poured two cups of water. Usually, I add vermicelli noodles to this dish but I forgot to buy one in the grocery. The local store doesn't have one too so I just let it pass.

After simmering everything around five to ten minutes, the food's good to go. Depending on your preference you can either add the fried tofu as toppings or include it on the dish.

I did not add salt and pepper as the taste is okay for me, but if the flavor is still lacking in your taste you can add salt, pepper, and even some seasonings.

viber_image_2024-01-18_05-51-06-764.jpg

Just have it plated and best served with the overnight rice ( kaning lamig).

Sort:  

Oh, mukhang masarap ah. Super healthy tingnan with the tofu. Pero syempre may shrimp, mas sumarap.

True this is my comfort food pag wala na me maisip I prepare this haha.

Ang gusto ko lang shrimp usually garlic-buttered shrimp, at nagutom na naman ako. hehe

Mahal kasi ang hipon na malaki almost 150 1/4 kilo lang.

Mahal din dito XD pati isda.

Ay ang shala ng presentation! hahahah ang sarap nyan!

Sympre naman babawi tayo sa presentation, di ganun ka mahal pero shala parin.

Now remind me it's been a while since the last time I had some beans and I did research yesterday and says it is good to eat for the second trimester.

Bili na! Mga bente pesos lang sa palengke ang isang tumpok nyan.
Ui eat more healthy foods para sa iyo and kay baby Hive!

Luhhh, bigla tuloy ako nag crave. I want it too pero yong mungbean sprout dapag crunchy pa. Ahhh, naiimagine ko tuloy. Pakain akoooo haha

Ito na saluhin mo Ruffa!

!untitled.gif

Send address nalang para sa naka repack.

In my version, we waiting the sprouts are longer 😊

Easy, healthy, and yummy as well 😊

I also use them if there's none available. More often than not, it is used for our vegetables spring rolls.

Super yummy indeed packed with nutrients and protein ( plus it is cheap)

Simple recipe but yummy.. I love tofu and bean sprouts ☺️.. I sometimes cook here too..

Yessssssss #teamtofu for a healthier alternative.

Share your dishes here din Jane!

a simple recipe but tasty recipe. ma try nga to paminsan

Sa dami ng munggo dyan madali mo ma rereplicate yan gisa-gisa lang solb na.

The dish presentation is really nice, this meal has nice colours and it looks so yummy as well.

Thanks Rosan! I am trying to learn more about how to present dishes and this makes me motivated to do more.

It is super yummy indeed.

Gusto ko din yarn. Napaka healthy. Hindi ba yan kalaban ng may rayuma hehe.

HAHAH wag na nating pag-usapan ang rayuma Zehn di tayo magkakaroon nyan basta mag flanax.

Flanax talaga hahaha. Masama daw kapag laging umiinom ng pain reliever hehe. Morning tp!