Chinese BBQ Ribs & Chicken - Lori's Cookbook

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

DSC_3510_1600.JPG

I love doing some Chinese/Asian cooking for the Lunar New Year - and this one's a special one, because my sign is the Ox and this is the Year of the Ox! I hope this will be a good one, for sure!

I started from a recipe in one of my books, but then I took it my own direction...

First, I needed a marinade.
I began with the ingredients for Chinese five spice:
peppercorns, cloves, cinnamon, star anise and fennel seed. Since this is a marinade, I don't need it all ground up, floating freely in the marinade is great.

DSC_3491_1600.JPG

DSC_3493_1600.JPG

Then, I added a generous slather of honey over all the spices.
Next, I added about half a bottle of No Soy Sauce (I'm completely soy intolerant, so this is a god-send. Coconut aminos would also work, as would oyster sauce or even beef broth if you have nothing else.)
Finally, I added a quart of homemade broth.
I mixed this well.

DSC_3495_1600.JPG

In the pan, I placed my pork ribs and covered them with marinade, turning them immediately to marinate all sides. In my plastic container, I added the chicken drumsticks (my store didn't have wings) and turned those similarly.

DSC_3497_1600.JPG

DSC_3500_1600.JPG

I added some water, more "soy sauce" and more honey so that the meat was completely immersed.

I left that for 2-3 hours.

One of the reasons I made sure the meat was completely covered is because I don't have space in my refrigerator to marinate the meat there, so immersing it completely adds a degree of (not-USDA-recommended) food safety.

After marinating the meat, I baked all of it in the oven at 375F, basting it with the excess marinade until the meat was cooked all the way through and browned/sticky. The leftover marinade was transferred directly to my slow cooker with a pork shoulder to make Chinese BBQ Pork. (That was successful, though I didn't take any pictures of the final product.)

DSC_3510_1600.JPG

These Chinese BBQ ribs and chicken drumsticks were excellent and I'll definitely do it again. I'm not sure about this No Soy Sauce - I think that coconut aminos has a better, more soy-like flavor, so I might do that last time, despite the higher price. If I only cook this way a couple of times a year, it would be worth the additional cost.

Note: All photos are mine - Nikon D7200.

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink
Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Drop Sugar Cookies - Christmas, Valentines, whatever you like!
Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Appetizers

Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)
Marinated Olives & Nuts

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Italian Meatballs
Simple Cheeseburgers
Sloppy Joes
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Spanish Rice

Main Courses

Baked Garlic Lemon Shrimp
Battered & Fried Prawns & Zukes
Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks
Keto Fried Seafood
Low-Carb Baked Catfish Nuggets

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink
Crème de Muir (alcoholic)

Side Dishes

Lactofermented Sauerkraut
Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Baking Powder Biscuits
Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Nearly No Carb Keto Bread - demo only, follow the link to the recipe. (grain free)
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Sweet Snacks

Almond Flour Snickerdoodles
Brownies with Chocolate Ganache - made into a great birthday cake!
Drop Sugar Cookies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces & Dips

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter
Guacamole Salsa
Creamy Guacamole
Avocado Salsa
Tartar Sauce

Food as Medicine

Egg Drop Soup

Desserts

Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Dobos Torte
Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Peach Crisp
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Rice Pudding



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif


Discord Link

Sort:  

@iamraincrystal, should I start tagging you in these posts? I can easily add it to my template.

Mmmm 😋😋😋 yes please! I love diy sauces and mixes 😉👍🏼 love your cooking! Wish there's virtual taste test too 🤣😂

!WINE


Congratulations, @iamraincrystal You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @viking-ventures.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.300 HIVE

lol - I figured I was safe on that one - consider yourself added! :D
I wish there was a virtual taste test too. I've already got another two recipes to add from this weekend - and am looking for another recipe right now that my cousin told me about.

Oh, this looks real nice!

Thank you! I do love a good excuse to do more ethnic cuisine. :)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @rehan12 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!