Creme de Muir - Lori's Cookbook

DSC_3286_1600.JPG

After a long day cooking and canning, this drink was exactly what was needed. This post was 20 days in the making - literally.

I've been thinking a lot recently about alcohol and its (likely) historical role in preserving fruit. Also seeing the price tags of interesting liqueurs in the store, I decided that other than the very basics (like vodka), I'm going to make my own - and experiment with the preserving qualities of alcohol. (My thinking is that the evolution of liqueurs was as a by-product of preserving fruit - at least, originally.) It's a difficult subject to research because it's difficult to find anything that's not resoundingly negative about alcohol on the internet.

Anyway, I figured that berries were a good candidate for trying something new. I looked for mixed drink recipes for ideas, then formulated my own method based on these.

So... this blackberry drink: Crème de Muir (or cream of blackberry)

Preparation

I needed: red wine, vodka (or gin), blackberries, and sugar.

DSC_3223_1600.JPG

DSC_3226_1600.JPG

I filled my quart jar about halfway with the frozen berries, so about 1 pints of berries.

Then, I poured 1/2 cup of sugar over the berries.

DSC_3227_1600.JPG

DSC_3228_1600.JPG

I filled the jar with 1/2 c gin (or vodka) and 1 1/2 c red wine

Then I closed it and put it in my cupboard for a few weeks (20 days, at the moment.) Sometimes, I shook it up to dissolve the sugar, otherwise, I left it alone.

Serving

DSC_3277_1600.JPG

I started with the half-dozen ice cubes the children hadn't taken...

I added a few blackberries for fun.

And measured out a generous 2-ounce measure of the liqueur. (I had forgotten that most of the beverage was wine, so I could easily have doubled it without fearing too much alcohol.)

DSC_3279_1600.JPG

DSC_3286_1600.JPG

I further diluted the liqueur with sparkling water. A 1:1 ratio is a good thing to aim for. I think I put a bit too much.

This was a really enjoyable drink to wind down my day of cooking, canning and babysitting.

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

Note: All photos are mine - Nikon 7200. Crossposted on Uptrennd.

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink
Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Drop Sugar Cookies - Christmas, Valentines, whatever you like!
Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Appetizers

Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)
Marinated Olives & Nuts

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Italian Meatballs
Simple Cheeseburgers
Sloppy Joes
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Spanish Rice

Main Courses

Baked Garlic Lemon Shrimp
Battered & Fried Prawns & Zukes
Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks
Keto Fried Seafood
Low-Carb Baked Catfish Nuggets

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Lactofermented Sauerkraut
Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Baking Powder Biscuits
Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Nearly No Carb Keto Bread - demo only, follow the link to the recipe. (grain free)
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Sweet Snacks

Almond Flour Snickerdoodles
Brownies with Chocolate Ganache - made into a great birthday cake!
Drop Sugar Cookies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces & Dips

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter
Guacamole Salsa
Creamy Guacamole
Avocado Salsa
Tartar Sauce

Food as Medicine

Egg Drop Soup

Desserts

Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Dobos Torte
Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Peach Crisp
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Rice Pudding



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif


Discord Link

Sort:  

Oh boy that sounds delicious.
We make our own kailua, love the coffee flavor with fresh vanilla.
Enjoy your weekend 😊

Thank you!
I might try making kailua - more for others though as I'm not a coffee fan... Though maybe a mocha variant might be okay... I did try two other infusions at the same time - a blueberry mojito and a sex-on-the-beach. I haven't tried those yet...

mmmm looks yummy. I wish I could have free taste 😁😁





Posted using Dapplr

Well, you know what to do! ;-)
One day...

Manually curated by goldendawne from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png