Colorful Keyboard Board Game!

in Teachers Lounge2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20211114_161931.jpg

What does a teacher do on a Sunday afternoon? Is she/he resting? Does she/he enjoy a day without school? Possible, yes, it is very possible. But sometimes, a teacher like me, who likes to play, invents new games for the students, as well as for the rest of the adult population. In this post, we will find two games, one shown in the video that I drew for the youngest students, but hive users will also be able to play. My traditional questions, challenges, or games that I like to set ;))

What I have used

As we can see in the video, this is a DIY project! That sounds like a huge project, but, in reality, I used just a few things: the idea to make a board game for the youngest - a colorful piano keyboard, one piece of paper, a pencil, and some colors. After drawing it and coloring it, I cut a piece of cardboard where I stuck the paper with duct tape. That tape serves as a protection of the top of the board space. I could have taken it to an office to be plasticized, but this way everything is handmade and much cheaper. Gratis!

Purpose

The purpose of this board game is to learn the name and position of the notes, matching them with the keys that we can find on the keyboard. In the school, we have many similar games that we made for the younger students, but believe me, the little bit older ones also like to play! So, we made some cards where, for the written notes, along with the position of them in the stave, an order of colors is established. (The stave (UK)or staff (US) is the set of five horizontal lines where the notes are written). Thus, the first note in the scale is C, it is red, and it is written below the stave circling a ledger line. The second one is blue, note D and it is written just below the stave, etc... Each student will have a pawn and move it according to the number that the dice is showing after rolling the dice. The field on which she/he stood acts for one piano key, painted with a color representing the name of a note. They are supposed to tell me the name of the note and where it is written in the stave. It is made for the smallest ones, of course, as the best way to learn is through games at that age.

How

I made the drawing in exactly one hour, not counting the preparation before taking the video. I set the time-lapse mode shooting, where for one hour of recording I can get 1 minute of time-lapse video. It was an enjoyable one hour on my balcony this afternoon, instead of taking a traditional siesta! Oh, I skipped it today, but never mind, I loved the process of making this thing and also, I am pretty satisfied with the result, that came out like this from the first attempt. For the background music for this video, I recorded a song that I am playing on the piano. It is Watermark, by Enya. A long time ago, I recorded and published this song but without the audio interface I have now, so this is a new recording made for this board game drawing video. Why so calm song? As my fingers were drawing and coloring so fast, we need a bit of tranquility while seeing it ;D

A small guessing game for HIVE members!

Excited? No? Come on, let's play, it will be easy! The question I wanted to ask you today is:

Which note does the yellow piano key represent on my invented colorful keyboard?

Easy, right? I need just one letter, the name of the note! The reward is a symbolic tip of 1 HBD that I will send to the wallet of the person who first responds correctly. Remember, playing the game is more important than the outcome, so why not try?

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

What a nice and creative way to get kids to learn the notes! We have a recurring lesson at our school where the kids make board games in the 9th grade as an arts & crafts project. It tends to be one of the more popular projects every year.

That is perfect when the children have the opportunity to create these kinds of games and activities. How cool! Then they even more like it :)
Btw, we made the majority of games we play with the small ones, I have two different board games already to develop musical knowledge, this one came today to my mind. Also, cards with the note values, notes in the stave, guessing games, making up their own compositions using already prepared short musical phrases, or without the prepared ones, etc.

Happy Monday tomorrow @pusen, and have a great teaching week 😎

@mipiano llevas a la creación grabada en tu ser. Que idea tan bella y tan didáctica para aprender las notas del piano. El video te quedo muy bonito, la música me relaja y me conmueve mucho jajaja. Abrazos! 🤗🤗🎶🎶♥️

Me alegro mucho que te ha gustado @naradamoon 🤗
La creación está siempre por aquí, en nustro ser, nosotros solo tenemos que verla, aceptarla y transmitirla :)

Y, no te animas responder a la pregunta que nota es la tecla amarilla en mi piano de colores? :D

@mipiano creo que la tecla es un Fa. 😆

Crees bien :) la tecla amarilla en este caso representa la nota Fa! Gracias por participar, un pequeñito regalito llegó a tu monedero ;)

These are lovely and getting shiny.
I love the coloration and concepts. Great work my dear friend @mipiano.
God bless you.

Thank you @ykdesign, I tried my best. We already used it with some students and they liked it of course a lot ;)

Very talented lady.... I need to learn your trick of 1 hour video giving 1 minute output... I can then show my children that I can still run a 1 minute 200m's {grin}

Hahahaha, what a great idea @themagus !!! Use this trick, your children would be amazed ;))

P.S. probably they are amazed, anyway! A funny and kind person as you are must be a great father too 😇

Awwwwww 🤗 ...such kind words {dispatches lovely bunch of flowers in the direction of Spain} ...

{flowers received}

Thanks ;D

Siempre llego tarde a sus juegos 😩😭 @mipiano.

No sabia que era profesora, lo sospechaba pero no tenía la certeza, sus alumnos deben adorarla.

Que buen post, mi admiración me gustó todo como siempre 😍

Hahaha, no siempre llegas tarde, una vez ganaste el juego (de la montaña) 😍

Sí, soy profesora, entre otras cosas ;)) Y sí, me quieren los alumnos igual que yo a ellos, es recíproco ( a ver si he escrito aquí esta palabra bien y si se puede utilizar en este sentido )

Lo escribiste muy bien. 👍 Perfecto, sin errores y con sentido.

A* 😊

I just noticed that you already got the answer! Good job!

What a lovely idea, you are really full of creativity!

Yep, we already had a winner, but, as you know I do many times guessing games and questions, so maybe next time :)

Oh, it was hive fest going on hahaha ;)))) in the meanwhile I was drawing ;D

Oh, it was hive fest going on hahaha ;)))) in the meanwhile I was drawing

Don't pretend that you aren't also a nerd like all of us!

Good idea!

Thank you Ludmila ;)) There are always some ideas in this head, sometimes I make them happen sometime not ;D

This is called natural selection 😂

DIY games are even more fun:)

Absolutely. And you know what, the little ones would many times choose my DIY games and not those we bought ;) Probably they like more these non perfect lines and shapes and coloring!

Nice post

Thank you ☺️

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 95000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Muy buen trabajo @mipiano, me encanto este post y me entretuve leyendo,
Y ver como dibujabas, excelente, 💕 Dios le siga dando la sabiduría, y muchos más proyectos para que les enseñes a esos alumnos 🤗🌟

Me alegro que que te ha gustado, juegos similares se pueden hacer con otras temáticas también, no tiene que ser piano o música :)
Gracias por tus deseos, espero que las ideas nunca se acaben :)