Welcome to The Collegial Spirit - A Community

in The Collegial Spirit4 years ago

The main idea: Let's form a think-tank community where we can throw ideas out there without worrying about being attacked. It doesn't need to be Steem-centric ideas, though I can see this being a handy community for that.

What we promote in this community:

  • Camaraderie - We're all in this together.
  • Professional Courtesy - We don't need to go down the formal etiquette route, but we should be professional.
  • Positivity - Let's focus on the positive.
  • Humor - It's not a requirement. Just something we promote.

What we avoid:

  • Ad Hominem - As a direct response to an idea, ad hominem is an invalid retort.
  • Formalities - Again, we don't need to be formal here. Just get to the point.
  • Verbal Attacks - Just keep it to yourself or go start your own community.

The goal is to promote true analysis of ideas in and of themselves. This means not necessarily focusing the character of the person promoting the idea. There are limits to this approach:



It's a balance. I'm sure we can deal with it.


TL;DR: Exploring ideas. No agenda. If you are mean, you will be muted.

Sort:  

Honestly, this is a superb idea. I think we have many smart people in this community who are afraid to share what knowledge and thoughts they have. An inclusive vs. exclusive community is a very interesting and refreshing idea. I'm on board and always willing to help to make this a reality.

I'm not sure if the smart people are really dissuaded. Perhaps discouraged. But if you really have a Good Idea™, I think you make a way. To me, this is more about getting a pulse of good ideas that have no other avenue. But I'm open to the idea that smart people are put off by the toxicity.

Replying from the Collegial Spirit community. Splendid.

In my opinion, this is an excellent example of a collegial spirit in action. Thanks for linking it.

I'm in. Is this a post-SMT thing, or?

This is a Communities thing. I doubt it'll need a tribe or SMT.

Where would the discussions take place?

I guess I'm not sure what you're asking. We can discuss it right here, if you like.

Sounds like a nice community. Is it for any kind of ideas, i.e. business related too?

I would think there's no reason to limit the kinds of ideas. Being polite on Steem is so unusual, I think that alone is limiting enough, at least for the moment. 😂

lol, sad but true.

We need someone to write up some being polite documentation. 😁

I actually think most people are completely familiar with being polite. There is a "default tone" that is conveyed by certain modalities that strips our humanity. As long as we're aware of this default tone, I think we're good. No need to get overly specific, and thus no need for documentation.

But point taken. There are plenty of examples on-chain where it seems like all we need is a manual to get it right.

I just watched this video:


Then, immediately after that, this post is the first thing I read.

I conclude that a group will form here, based on these ideas that will help guide humanity through the singularity.

 4 years ago (edited) 

It's kinda funny to call him the rightful heir to Thomas Edison. That's like an insult today, isn't it?

So he invented the CCD flatbed scanner and OCR. I wonder if Ray knows anything about T.W.A.I.N. ... ? 🤔

He's been a futurist for over 40 years? That seems like a contradiction, somehow ... 😁

So, one nonsense thing he said at 5:37 is that we saw exponential improvements for electronics, and we will see that soon for every other product. This is nonsense because electronics saw this due to lithography. Most "other products" cannot leverage lithography the way electronics did. He even skipped lithography in his "progression of technology" by 7:20. Why would he be so oblivious to such an obvious innovation that we're still using?

I had to stop listening at 9:37. Sorry.

Richard, I appreciate you pointing this guy out. Now I know I can ignore him. 😂

Yeah, that was weird.
I bet he does.
😂
Yeah, some pretty broad statements for sure.
Lol, well, that was far enough, the first 10 minutes was the best part.
I do think technology will soon reach some kind of tipping point that leads to changes that are hard to fathom right now.
And I love the idea of a think tank to navigate the incredible possibilities that are already arising.

Yes, drifting is a challenge.