The Goonies

in CineTV3 months ago

Heyyy youuu guys!

This was probably one of the most impactful movies of my generation for many reasons. For instance it was one of the first times I had ever heard of pirates in a real time movie. I'd always seen swashbuckling on cartoons, but as a 10 year old I'd never thought that pirates and hidden treasure imagined on live film for me to watch.

Then there was sloth. A malformed abused adult that obviously had the mind of a child. Usually people like this grew up in horrific childhoods as the local kids would taunt and berate them, but this was one that we all grew to love. And boy did we all love his strength - it got to the point in my area where some of the boys were mimicking sloth for his strength and power. It was the time when we were starting to care about disabilities, and this film was one of the driving forces behind it.

It's an age old classic, from swashbuckling antics to robberies and hidden pirate treasure. Something for all the family to watch, and enjoy for decades to come.

The Goonies start off with young Mikey, his Dad, Mum and neighbours are getting their houses foreclosed on them if they don't pay up to the bank. A big hungry multi-billion pound firm has come in and pressed on the bank to get the locals to pay up ridiculous amounts of money or have their houses taken away from them so they can build their own apartments there.

Mikey's dad has told him of an old treasure buried deep in the caves around the area of one-eyed-willy, a vicious Pirate that stole lots of money and buried himself and his crew alive with it so that no-one could steal his treasure. Lost for centuries, and with people getting lost in the process of searching it, it's quite the find.

That's when Mikey and his friends decide to go off in search of the treasure to save his mum and dads home from foreclosure.

That's when the Fratelli's make an appearance. At the beginning of the film you'll see a big car chase.

I had to share this, it was too good not to.

Anyway, the Fratelli's have escaped from prison and they are hiding out at a nearby shack because they are waiting out the heat. The shack is abandoned, or at least it used to be until the Fratelli's took hold of the place -- and this is where Mikey and the gang are led to. The shack.

Luckily, the kids are able to evade them and they are taken on a nearby hunt down a cave system and this is where the Pirate adventure begins. It's one of the best films of its era, for kids and adults alike. It's an old film but one worth watching again for sure. There's lots of frights and bumps and surprises, not to mention near misses. I enjoyed every minute of this. And I've seen it like 10 times already.

Definitely one to watch.

And when you meet sloth, the way he's interwoven into the storyline is nothing short of memorable. Everyone of my era remembers sloth. We were scared of him at first but fell in love with his brutish childlike character.

This was one of my childhood favourites. Up there with starwars.

Watch it if you can!

Sort:  

One of my favorite movies when I was a kid. I even played the Nintendo game and until now I listen to the Goonies theme by Cyndi Lauper. 😀

Damn. I forgot all about this song. Nice!

I saw it over 10 times in the cinema in the summer of 1986, as a ten-year-old.
So I did it again a couple of years ago. Still delight at the level. Even better than with the LOR trilogy 😃

Oh man, did you like the car chase I posted?

"Oh, wow, a police chase", said Chunk, spilling a milkshake from a Pepsi glass on his shirt 😄

I love that movie

Me too :)