You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favorite Comedy: Which will it be?

in CineTV2 years ago

Excellent choice. I remember laughing so much at school with my pals when we all watched this film. It really was comedy gold. The Monty python team are each differently funny and compliment each other so well which made them great together. John Cleese has also excelled in some of his more serious roles as supporting actor. later on, I think he was even Q in a Bond film.
Along with the Carry on team, they are a British institution.

Sort:  

Absolutely! Oh, I remember laughing so hard that we'd have to rewind the VHS tape over and over because no one could hear a thing for 2 minutes or so.
Life of Brian, The Holy Grail, Meaning of Life...all of those were absolute master pieces. I also enjoyed Michael Palin's cooking shows, in which he was pretty much drunk most days haha.
The ONE thing I wished I would have been able to go to was their good bye show. What a blast would that have been!

Those were some Comedy classics. They don't make them like that anymore which is a shame.

Yeah, it is a shame. But I'm not even sure if it'd even be possible now. Everyone gets offended about everything these days, and everything is an insult.
If you think about it, people like Chris Rock, Eddie Murphy, and Richard Pryor wouldn't get away with their stand up comedy shows anymore like they used to.
Imagine a show like RAW now! Half the world would be up in arms lol.
And one of my favourites from the past, Richard Jeni...wow. He'd be shot!
That is the real shame, if you ask me. :) Doesn't stop me from speaking my mind though hehe.

Very true. Speaking the truth is now funny because it's true.

Keep on speaking your truth. Peace and light!