You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CineTV Contest: Favorite Tom Hanks movie: The Da Vinci Code

in CineTVlast year

Thus, it is fulfilled in this case that the actors make each other shine.

I would disagree about Tom Hanks shining in this film. His character Langdon shines with his highly intellectual mind, but not the actor behind it. To be fair, I don't think any actor would have done much better job anyway because Langdon as a character is more robotic than human-like.
I think the actor who shone the brightest there was Paul Bettany.

Sort:  

I agree about Paul Bettany, I just didn't mention him 'cos he didn't interact much with the the rest (with words).
As for Langdon, it is beacause I was satisfied precisely with the human interpretation by Hanks of him; I mentioned him not being a cold Sherlock Holmes, but I could've speciefied I was talking to the high-functioning sociopaths type of interpretations of Holmes (as opposed to the lively yet most faithful interpretation by Jeremmy Brett). He's not a character that goes to high emotional extremes, and I think Hanks managed to portray that without being robotic