I'm Happy That My Students Are Suffering

in Education4 years ago



No, I'm not being sadistic, but let me explain. My students and I are the product of the same system. We were blessed enough to have free college tuition, free rent, an allowance and a job immediately after we have graduated. This was all part of the government's initiative to attract more young people to sign up. However, with the recent budget cuts, the free rent that we used to receive has been rescinded. As such, all of them are made to learn the art of house-hunting and the importance of money real quick.

Evil Laugh - TV Tropes

Image source

Hold up, how old are they?

Well, most of them are 19 this year. They can be considered young adults. But I remember only going house hunting after I have started working. I did have to manage my money, but because we were getting free rent, money was not as tight. However, the students now have to quickly learn about budgeting, rental agreements, and bills. 

It has been a very daunting task for them and I have been trying to guide them along the way. Now, this is the part that I am happy about. I am happy that they get to experience this very early on and with guidance. I remember the first time I had to pay my bills. I had no experience and everything was basically through trial and error. You know they say that you can learn almost anything online these days. Well, I find that to be untrue when it came to real estate. 

Most of the content found online is based in other countries. Some of the concepts don't apply locally. As such, you will need someone who has had some experience to guide you through the laws and hidden costs associated with real estate. Hence, I am glad that they get to experience this because it will help them in times to come. 

HD wallpaper: Man using a credit card to pay bills inside an ...

Image source

Every Challenge is a Learning Opportunity

When I first heard that they will be losing their accommodation, I thought that it was rather unfair. Most of them are not from well-to-do families and needed financial help. However, in hindsight, I failed to see that this was an excellent learning opportunity for them. One friend once asked why do we not teach more practical skills in school. Skills like how to find the perfect home or investing. I think the reason is that the children will not be able to associate with the knowledge taught in these courses unless they are placed in a situation where these skills are used. 

In a way, this has pushed my students in the direction to acquire all these skills and I am sure it will help them in the long run. For now, I shall continue to serve as their free consultant and guide in this new chapter of theirs. 



Sort:  

Ure horrible !!
But in a good way.
I teach my kids from young $$ don't fall from the sky.
Now, they are more stingy than us.. ha ha

I'm still helping them out and coincidentally they call me horrible too hahaha.. Yeah, my kids in college are unfortunately not kids anymore so they have up go through the express class of learning
How have you been?

They don't know how important you are till its too late.
I'm good for now; still stuck in VN.
Simon is caring for the kids better than ever.

I'm sure, not easy going at it alone, I've tried with both my girls haha
Is the situation in Vietnam improving?

Things are back to normal already for Vietnam.
It's like covid never happened except that we don't have international business coming in.

Hope that does not affect your job in any way?

From every experience (both the positive and negative ones), one can learn and get stronger. It is sad for them that they will need to deal with an extra worry. But I am sure that most of them will go through and get better prepared to life.

Definitely, I think it does build character and it is after all, a part of life

How are you bro? How is work? careful in teaching! LOL

I'm good! How have you been? Work's been alright, yourself?

We are fine here. A lot of people lose their job and other companies close! Terrible pandemic! Thank God I still have my job and my company is in good shape.

Definitely, has the situation in your home country gotten better?

Better than before! I feel that other countries controlled the situation. But I am sure, the economy will go back slowly! This pandemic teaches people or us to take care of our surroundings especially our health! These people from China and the US must learn now... I hope, God willing...