Masters of Teaching #33: A new trimester!

in Education2 years ago

Unsplash

You can find previous Brain Dumps here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16, Part 17, Part 18, Part 19, Part 20, Part 21. Part 22, Part 23, Part 24, Part 25, Part 26, Part 27, Part 28, Part 29, Part 30, Part 31, Part 32.

A new study trimester started for me a few weeks ago! I have been a bit preoccupied with other things, so it sort of caught me off guard. But it is actually quite nice to start a new teaching and learning session and be done with that crap show that was the last trimester.

Thankfully I got through the last two subject assessments in the last trimester with decent enough grades... But I had reached the point where I was just writing any of crap to submit and just handing it in... Glad to be done and finished.

Reading the comments... Well, it was more than apparent that it was all a waste of time anyway! The comments seemed to be written in a way that completely ignored what I wrote. Things like 'where is the mark scheme?'.... Written right next to the mark scheme. It seemed like crap shooting random comments and hopefully something being relevant to the assignment that I had handed in.

Anyway, I start this trimester with a single subject load (that is a quarter full time, I think). A much more relaxed load, as I am finding that I'm having less time then expected to study... And to be honest, I'm not sure I want to be teaching in a classroom anyway!

I was just able to pass my literacy exam, which is a nice relief... I honestly can't believe what passes for literacy these days, it is a load of meaningless crap that have to read and digest! I am still dumbfounded that kids are being taught to write as though they were incomprehensible middle managers.

Meanwhile, I am still unable to book a numeracy exam, as they come up once per quarter... And the single day of two that they are open always seems to clash with existing commitments. Ah well, next time...

So, this trimester is a History of Australian Education. A purely social/humanities topic that is not anything to do with the practice of teaching. It was one of the few electives that was of interest to me... The rest seemed just gimmicky or not really that interesting to me. Mostly gimmicky..

Anyway, I am quite interested in how the Australian system of education has evolved into the state that it is now. A real entrenched system of have and have-nots that manages to take the worst of all possible styles of interference from politics of all stripes! And of teachers still trying to make do and do the best for their students...

.. The key thing from the first week for me that sums it all up. Students (and their parents) are now seen as consumers... This is the sort of crap show that you will get when you have bean-counters, politicians, parents, and metric chasers in charge of things. It is fine for unimportant things like running a business... But for an educational system, it is a job best left to professionals without additional 'help'.

Rant out!

I can also be found cross-posting at:
Hive
Steem
Publish0x

Handy Crypto Tools

Ledger Nano S/X: Keep your crypto safe and offline with the leading hardware wallet provider. Not your keys, not your crypto!
Binance: My first choice of centralised exchange, featuring a wide variety of crypto and savings products.
Kucoin: My second choice in exchanges, many tokens listed here that you can't get on Binance!
FTX: Regulated US-based exchange with some pretty interesting and useful discounts on trading and withdrawal fees for FTT holders. Decent fiat on-ramp as well!
MXC: Listings of lots of interesting tokens that are usually only available on DEXs. Avoid high gas prices!
Huobi: One of the largest exchanges in the world, some very interesting listings and early access sales through Primelist.
Gate.io: If you are after some of the weirdest and strangest tokens, this is one of the easiest off-chain places to get them!
Coinbase: If you need a regulated and safe environment to trade, this is the first exchange for most newcomers!
Crypto.com: Mixed feelings, but they have the BEST looking VISA debit card in existence! Seriously, it is beautiful!
CoinList: Access to early investor and crowdsale of vetted and reserached projects.
Cointracking: Automated or manual tracking of crypto for accounting and taxation reports.
Poloniex: One of the older regulated exchanges that has come into new ownership. I used to use it quite a lot, but have since stopped.
Bitfinex: Ahhh... another oldie, but a goodie exchange. Most noted for the close affiliation with USDT and the Basic "no-KYC" tier!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community (Subscribe at Steempeak and Peakd) at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

Australian Education is not alone in trying to please parents and students. It has gotten worse because of Covid. Many schools have created extra work for teachers to please parents and students. Decisions are made based on parental support instead of what needs to be done to close the learning gap during covid.

The sad part is that teachers are burnt out and leaving the profession. Schools are desperate for teachers. I dread the upcoming year as the possibility looms that we will again be shorted staffed. I normally teach the Extend School Year program for students with disabilities, but I took this summer off. I love working with the kids I teach, but I need to do what is best for me. It has been a tough year at school, and I also had some medical issues that sapped my energy and physical stamina.

Additionally, I have no idea what I will be teaching next year. The school needs to hire 3 Special Education teachers for next year only two of us are returning. Depending on the teachers' qualifications, I could be teaching Life Skills, History, Math, or Science class to our sub-separate students. I will be assigned to co-teach two inclusion classes and a caseload of students with IEPs.

Despite the craziness of the last few years, I do it because I love it. I hope that when you finish your master's that you at least try it for a year or two.

I have heard lots about short-staffing and burnout. I can't blame the teachers... the combination of the responsibility and the crazy demands from all quarters makes the actual education aspect seem like it is the least important part of it all!

I do love teaching, but I'm really not that keen on all the stuff that surrounds it... and sometimes, I think that people play on and take advantage of the love of teaching that teachers have.

The administration knows what teachers care and are willing to do what is needed for students. The flip side is that the students and some parents know who will help when they need it. I had a student move away in December, but he sent me a picture of his diploma and thanked me. At our graduation, one of the parents gave me a dozen roses to thank me for all I did for their daughter. I love it when my students experience success. They are why I stick with it.