Are your students also negative at this time of year?

in Education2 years ago

Image source

I usually have a very good relationship with my students. I make a point of it to get to know each one individually and treat them with respect. I have always believed that if I respect a student then the feeling will be mutual.

This week I noticed a very strange thing in one of my classes. I don't know whether it is a phase or stage or whatever these kids are going through, but their attitudes are up to nuggets! They hardly greet me, and they hardly answer any questions. It seems like they are all on their own planet.

I can just as well talk to a wall because I might get a better reaction out of the wall.

I teach Mathematics, and it is extremely important for them to listen and respond so that I can know if they understand or not. I put in a lot of effort into my lessons and I don't rush through a syllabus. I will get stuck on a topic until every student understands the work.

It makes me so upset when they just stare at me with blank faces. I took this opportunity to give them a proper speech. Hopefully they listened. Obviously they are teenagers so hopefully it hit them hard and they will change their attitudes in the coming week.

I explained to them that it is necessary to change the way they think and to change their mindset. They need to get positive because positivity makes you feel happier and if you are happy then it will change your whole attitude towards your life.

Their current behavior can change the way they think about life. How sad is it that a bunch of fifteen year old's just don't have anything to be happy about?

Hopefully after my long speech they will become a little bit more positive and start concentrating more because it will improve their performance and in change give them a more positive result.

We will just have to wait and see, but I promise you I will die trying to change them into positive little angels. I just have a subtle way with words so I believe that the speech helped. I also told them that if they don't start communicating then I am going to contact their parents.

Either way, I hope something did the trick. Let's see how it goes in the following week. After the weekend they might all be back to their old selves.

May you have a blessed weekend.

Sort:  

I think young people are very affected by the international situation. Why do you want to learn maths when you may experience nuclear apocalypse tomorrow.