30 Days Blog Challenge (Day 14) - Thoughts on Education

in Education4 years ago

Education goes beyond what takes places within the four walls of the classroom. A child gets the education from his experiences outside the school as well as from those within on the basis of these factors. Originally we know there are three types of Education, which are; Formal, Informal and Non-formal.

Formal education usually takes place in the premises of the school, where a person may learn basic, academic, or trade skills.
Informal Education is the process of a child learning from his/her parents or from other persons in his/her surroundings.Sometimes, self study, like reading of books to learn something different from your regular school work can be categorised as informal Education.
Non-formal education is imparted consciously and deliberately and systematically implemented. In nonformal education, someone (who is not in school) can learn literacy, other basic skills or job skills.

Prior to this article, I want to focus on Formal Education. If you check my explanation on formal education, I did say it takes place in the premises of the school, where a person may learn basic, academic, or TRADE SKILLS. But the last part is missing in our educational system in this part of the world where I belong. The Education serve to students here is about how to have good grades and top your peers, graduate and get a good job. We don't Teach or Inspire FINANCIAL EDUCATION, and I think the syllabus should be structured to fit this type of Education.

FINANCIAL EDUCATION

Financial education is the possession of the set of skills and knowledge that allows an individual to make informed and effective decisions with all of their financial resources. Financial education is the ability to understand how money works. It is the art of investing and managing money and the ability to make sound financial decisions. Like I said before, the educational structure is designed to teach these young once how to be the best EMPLOYEE they don't invest on how to educate them on how to be the best EMPLOYERS. I'm not surprised because the people handling this students have all eat from one pot right from the beginning, so they pass that same knowledge to the new generations.

I know what I'm saying because I'm a Mathematics/Further Mathematics and Basic Science and Technology teacher, I see the syllabus and the people taking them and I feel this circle will continue for a long time. Understand that students see their teachers as a great inspiration, every student have this one teacher they want to be like, they like their style of teaching and love the things they do. Knowing and understanding this, I changed my approach to my teaching, because I know a lot of my students love and want to be like me. Apart from being a teacher, I have been slowly growing my brand and most of the things I know today are all from books I studied (informal Education), I taught myself so many things, the one reason I'm always open to learning new ideas.

TEACH ME HOW TO MAKE AND MANAGE MY MONEY

We don't see teachers teaching their students how to make and also how to manage their money, and that's because 80% of this teachers work for money, non of then understand how money could actually work for them, so how do you expect them to teach what they don't know. I told myself, I don't just want to teach my students what's in their textbooks, I also want to teach them about the real world, how they can make money and manage their money. So, whenever I teach, my reference always stretch out to things in the real world. I always tell my students to learn enough skills before finishing their secondary education, because when they begin their tertiary education, they will need to start developing those skills and by the time they are done with school, they will be ready to face life differently. I always tell my students each new books I'm reading, and during our curriculum activities every Friday, we discuss money talk, that's the one day of the week, we do a different type of learning (too bad, only the class I'm managing get's to enjoy this experience 😭). We discuss the points the author from each books is trying to educate us on, during this period we all share ideas and it's truly beautiful.

Why do I do this? Students are like virus, they spread both good and bad things they learn faster. So, teaching them about financial education, they tend to go out there and spread this which they have learn. The era we are in now, it's the time to let these young once know, they are the once to produce those jobs the government have been promising for many years. These people in power lack the knowledge of how to create, and these young once have to start knowing their place in the society, they are the saviours, only if they choose to be. I really hope, very soon, financial education will be structured into our syllabus, let these young once know about money, how to make it the right way and how to manage them. Even though some will choose to be good Employees after this knowledge, let the remaining 10% that choose to stand out learn about how to create.

I choose to teach my students Mathematics/Further Mathematics, Basic Science and Technology and most especially, I choose to teach FINANCIAL EDUCATION.

Like I always conclude my talk with them (my students), BE WISE AND GET RICH

5g3tfgG6WgLY7CwiDibFzqr7GtpEvW743ENPdseqSXLsRbNFpc8vJySJmAfutcShTDs2PkW4g5xGJPQp1W6vgdWejSv5FPGRMMSArXGUYYYTPWwbwwscxvg6LLFijD...YXyktoEdDaEQjsvE6NtkcSQpvQCPBwG9ye5m4WAQC48Rob75jT5FHDbZZQwzojQPcocthQZrPXkMqVcURBoqaEYseTxrSjxxkkwCCo45fN1gYT9yvhAMVox9pi.png

This is my 14th day of the 30 days blog challenge, we have @macchiata, @wolfofstreet, @suffgrace, @lauramica, @janettyanez, @pejupops, @martinstomisin, @tripode and @starstrings01 already on this challenge. The goal of this challenge is to keep Hivers active on the Hive Blockchain and also solving the issue of not knowing what to write about.

Thank you for reading, if you love this post, please follow me and don't forget to drop your thoughts in the comment section, an upvote will be truly appreciated. Thank you.
Images designed by me using canva.com

5g3tfgG6WgLY7CwiDibFzqr7GtpEvW743ENPdseqSXLsRbNFpc8vJySJmAfutcShTDs2PkW4g5xGJPQp1W6vgdWejSv5FPGRMMSArXGUYYYTPWwbwwscxvg6LLFijD...YXyktoEdDaEQjsvE6NtkcSQpvQCPBwG9ye5m4WAQC48Rob75jT5FHDbZZQwzojQPcocthQZrPXkMqVcURBoqaEYseTxrSjxxkkwCCo45fN1gYT9yvhAMVox9pi.png

000111387473565_20200928_044100_0000.png

2d46Q264YMJpcjK9xgCvt6W2uZDFqjWTDsM1KBwKjTHcayoitAS1iLkw8Bp5xkok4vNj8tfxCvi1D1nsRbWNDGKfTzhu16CaaEaskaDp81r5jgREjPHzMMQiRi1o6L...36VWR51piZSEQjBfnVDbwTWmrDsLL31wadvhKw2NM4NrDv7Kna3xETiNokN5kKvGkU7ND11FRhhB94Tsgxh41QicTTd6d3nM2NqtDxUdhgw8pvm7c4TK8tmayb.gif

Sort:  

It is not hard to believe you are a teacher. This is because from the start of your post, it seems more like I was being taught what education is as if I was in a school sitting down at the four corners of the classroom walls. I began asking myself as I smiled if you are a teacher to have structured your post this way and it amusing I got my answer straight away.

Yea, it is sad to see the educational system doing such and it is certain it will last long for a long time. While many will argue that these things are being taught - making and managing money, the ideal truth is that it isn't. At some point it isn't their fault they just have to follow syllabus.

😂😂😂😂 yes man, I'm a teacher with a difference I guess.

Yeah, like I did point out in my post, the teachers can't teach what they don't know, I read and article in the past that said the real teachers are now the once in school teaching, they are the once that see growth and choose to learn about it, to teach others. A lot of the people that teach today teach because they want a job for the main time. The even some of them that study education in school still come out only to teach what they are thought. I studied Computer Science in school, but I have always have this thing for sharing my knowledge, even while in university, I was controlling a study class, I finish and told myself I want to follow teaching as a profession, because a lot that we learn has to be restructured, I'm glad I can do that with these young once, and I know they will pass it on. A new circle have to begin, it will take time, but it will happen.

Well, like they say, change begins from us. It is great to see you aspire to start the change even from yourself and that is really inspiring. I hope that soon enough, you will have people in masses supporting you!

Thank you, I really hope so too. I have to change myself before thinking of impacting such change on others

True enough financial education is important. Start young and be on the right track 😉👍🏼 some of us had to learn the hard way... Congrats you're almost half way through your challenge 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Yes, a lot of us didn't get this on time, that's why these young once need to be set on track. Thank you, I have come far with this Challenge

I totally agree with you, education in schools should totally take a turn ... stop focusing on memorizing so much content and teaching kids to be able to survive abroad, to be able to progress and not just have a graduate degree.

They need to learn how to survive in the real world so much is needed for restructuring of the educational system

You are rigth.

Yeah, thank you

Yes ! financial education is very crucial, almost life-death matter but they don't teach students properly at school. Financial education should also include how to start a business and ventures so students are not dependent on becoming someone's else minion 😄

Very true, they need to know the world is how they picture it. They need to include financial education