You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POOR = BAD

in Deep Dives4 years ago

I started to read some of your posts about the werewolf and cyberpirate contest, but I've been reading others because I find the ethical and political turn you give to the argument very interesting. I don't mean to say that I fully understand where you are going, but it is clear to me, in my context, that there is a logic of power that uses our natural inclinations and weaknesses to keep our freedoms subdued while the whole system grabs at you. And, look, you may even consent to it by believing or indeed acting for what you believe is the greater good.
Let me give you a personal example (please, no pity): a university professor in my country earns about $3 a month. You read correctly: three dollars a month. Not an hour, no. Can that professor exercise free thought? What are the risks of his being corrupted? How does he exercise his profession fully without declining in favor of a slave system? Or worse, how does he avoid being defeated by the manipulation of a system that offers him a few crumbs in exchange for political compliance? How does he avoid abandoning, since in this way he gives university autonomy to those who want to take it over and turn it into an ideological control apparatus? How does he do it when all his avenues of protest fail? It is clear to me that we have an ethical and political conflict linked to poverty. Poverty damages and the power structures know how to use it against us, and it can become a factor for debasement, as much as money or power.
We have there a difficult knot whose equation is not solved in the same way in all contexts. And when there is power over the distribution of poverty, which is not the same as power over the distribution of wealth, our horror stories can be truly horrific.
Note: Sammy and Sid are OK OK.😍 Lovers.