You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvotes & Reward Policing: Abuse of Power or Good for the Platform?

in Deep Dives3 years ago

But you will not clarify for us what criteria you use to determine ‘good’ upvotes versus ‘bad’ or what specifically causes you to disagree with high payout in the cases you downvote, or what you deem to be ‘too high’ of rewards?

This lack of clarification, the upvotes not accompanied by comment explaining each time, and general subjectivity of it all without a completely clear reasoning for ppl to understand makes it easy to view your votes as targeting specific content and users, and the reason ppl are leaving Hive. As those whose rewards are being policed, it’d be nice to know the ‘rules’ of the game from those doing the policing.

Just know you along with few other whales helped drive many users away with this rampant abuse of power and lack of transparency on your part, although the pattern is rather transparent for all to see as to what you consistently deem over-rewarded and what you see as acceptable for high payouts. I know you have the right according to the blockchain code and view your actions as in the best interest of The community, but all tyrants do the same, so enjoy stamping us blockchain peasants down, it’s what the rich and powerful are usually best at anyway. Good luck using your power to punish rather than reward, its a sad path to travel being so negatively oriented, I hope you find a way to use your power in a more positive way in the future and wish you all the best, despite the 3 downvotes in a row and all.

Sort:  

But you will not clarify for us what criteria you use to determine ‘good’ upvotes versus ‘bad’ or what specifically causes you to disagree with high payout in the cases you downvote, or what you deem to be ‘too high’ of rewards?

He will never do that. He will also never admit that some of the downvotes are deliberately targeting particular types of posts/authors/themes. I'm sure that some of the flagging is legitimate for good reasons or intentions, but there are too many cases where it seems to defy the stated facts around it. Also, there are some others that you can be just as critical of, for doing the same thing, that are even more obvious about their targeting of certain themes and the contents of posts.

I think you know who I'm talking about here. Especially when it comes to certain "curation" groups and accounts that had links to certain individual accounts. This was happening way before the huge bullrun and increased payouts on posts that we have seen more recently, and in fact started before the fork from steemit.

He will never do that.

Of course not, but now it is on record that he has refused to do so after being pressed by several users seeking clarification. It is also plain as day that certain content is being targeted, as I pointed out in my post - anti-establishment views to be generic, particularly on the subjects of corona, vaccines, and pharmaceutical medicine vs. natural healthy living. Oppressors don't tend to be honest and forthright about their reasons for oppressing others, bullies always believe they have a right to bully others, and we are dealing with a blockchain bully, plain and simple, with the same mentality of street cops / politicians / corporate executives thinking they have more rights than the rest of us because they have more power.

Oh yeah, there are for sure a number of others I referenced without naming names in the opening of my post whose wrath I have experienced firsthand on and off from the time my posts began getting decent views on Steemit, which was oddly the only part of the post that brought about a direct response from smooth, claiming downvotes are never punitive. What a joke, of course they are punitive, a downvote fits every aspect of the dictionary and encyclopedia definitions of 'punishment', they are a deterrent to certain 'bad' behavior, it's just ridiculous high rewards and politically incorrect speech gets lumped in with spam and plagiarism as blockchain 'crimes' :)

Of late, it seems altleft has been the biggest punisher of the anti-establishment dissent on the platform, but there are others including curation trails I'm aware of that I won't name, although I'm sure you are more familiar with all the connections than myself. It's gotten so bad I've had the past 7 research-based posts of mine in a row downvoted, all but one with massive removal of rewards, but that's fine, the covid cultists and establishment bootlickers are showing their true colors, and I just feel blessed to making any good rewards at all.

I made this post because a number of users have had enough and are leaving, and I was hoping those who claimed to care about the 'community' would see what they are doing by driving good content creators away, but it doesn't seem they truly care about growth on here, only about enriching their own massive reward pools through various means and maintaining a monopoly on power, by increasing value of hive and through leverage of their power to reap rewards. You just gotta love the hundreds of hbd-funder spam comments under their posts raking in hundred dollar payouts all day long while those who actually spend hours to create original and well-researched content are downvoted by these whales claiming to 'better hive'.

I suspect certain small independents voices leaving is in fact the intended consequence of their actions.

If explanatory comments accompanied these downvotes every time, such behavior wouldn't be half as bad, but the refusal to accompany big downvotes with explanation comments on the post being downvoted is in my opinion the worst part about the incessant downvotes here (as it was the problem on Steem as well). This lack of transparency and the clear downvote patterns available for all to see show us everything we need to see.

Thanks so much for the comment and have a great week!

I truly am sad that @logiczombie leaves. I always was looking forward to his postings. I am here since 2017 and saw many many people come and go. I got hyped in the beginning but then it wore itself out and I am still here for reading during my first morning coffee instead of polluting myself through "social media".

Yes, one recognizes quality when one reads/sees it. Your articles are always very well researched and high effort. Though I am not always having the same view, I highly appreciate them.

Comments nowadays are low and that is also a sign that people are not very interested in the contents itself. I for my part, am not willing to go around and beg for attention. I read what interests me and visit my favorite bloggers once in a while.

Cheers. This discussion once again proved what it is all about. People are not dumb and cannot be fooled.


edit: While thinking about comments and how low they are, it must not be a bad sign or a sign of disinterest. Sometimes people just read something but don't want to comment. Where are actually the "eyes", they disappeared some day, so one could see how many readers (or viewers) an article was having.

don't worry, i'll still post on HIVE.

i'll be blurting everything stream-of-consciousness on my discord.
i'll be posting vids on odysee and THETA and ROKU (and ewetoobz).

and for all those read-only readers who just read and don't like to comment (INTP), even something as simple as a "." would do wonders for people like me who feel like they're screaming into the void.

i think they're just afraid to post a "." comment or even a "thanks" because HIVEWATCHERS will flag them as "spam".

I have tried to go to the discord channel and get you there, but I was not successful.

"Screaming into the void", yeah, I know this feeling. I often feel alone even though people are near me.

Being afraid that the watchers may downvote is not good. I would ignore it. I can't understand why people make victims out of themselves so easily. That is self-zensoring, don't you think?

Odysee I am beginning to explore. Many u-tubers switch to that place. What is your channel there?

people are already afraid to open up at all.

and being punished for no discernable reason, with no trial by some rag-tag mob of self-appointed vigilantes who refuse to explain themselves creates a toxic CONFORMIST environment.

especially when they could and should simply MUTE users they disagree with.

blurt is vastly superior.
discord is vastly superior.
odysee is vastly superior.

THETA IS VASTLY SUPERIOR.

can you give me some links to the referred platforms?
Thank you :)

Disagreeing with opinion is okay, what is not okay, is punishing. Downvotes are punishments, yes. It cannot be tolerated. When one is in inferior position it's good to speak out. As it was done in many cases here on hive. I have no idea what to do, other than to blog what is important to me. I can only concentrate on a handful of people here, which I hold dear and who interest me resp. what they have to say. It's often a very valuable source of information.

image.png
check the email address you used to sign-up and you should see a link saying something like "logiczombie mentioned you". just hit the link, it will take you directly to the message.

Well, I am a big fan of your work, and one of your original followers back in the steemit days as well:)...so I would never downvote any of it lol. I may not have commented very often on your posts, but I sure as hell read them all!


Here's the thing....I have been aware of some of these groups for quite a while now (and some of the individuals that influence them, in the multiple level form), so I saw this moment coming a long time ago. I have even had conversations about it in private discord discussions. It was actually the main reasons why I stopped blogging here. If you are not aware of, or don't remember some of my going away comments, you can see them in my last research post here to read some of the things I said. It reads fairly ugly in hindsight, but there was good reason behind it.

Even though it may seem unrelated in isolation, I can assure you that it is connected to what is going on in various ways. I have never been targeted on a large scale like you guys have been recently in my time on steem/hive on your posts in general, however to me the principle of the matter is the same whether you are downvoted for your creative content on your posts to have rewards removed for a simple difference in opinion, or whether you happen to post an opinion in the comments section of the "influential and powerful" of this blockchain and get a deliberate and silencing downvote to block the comment from view....and only because they feel as though they are more important than you, and your opinion is less valuable/or included a critique that they did not like.

Unfortunately there is a true sense of entitlement that exists at the top levels on this platform, rather than the stories people get preached to on a constant basis. That's how it works most of the time. The powerful love to flip reality for their own interests. What does that remind us of?!?!

Anyway, I could say a lot more on this topic, but I will leave it there. It's a real shame, that the definitions being used of how a decentralised platform and communities in general should operate, don't seem to fit into what they should actually be all about.