Sort:  

It's a very good point that gold and silver are short term hedges. I find your strategic thinking very on point, enabling your nimble response to whatever specific form the catastrophe coming takes. There are a broad spectrum of possibilities, and some few certainties exigent circumstances will take. I try to be prepared for some events that may arise, and those that will, but only for long enough to transition to the form they take after that necessary transition.

I have settled on a region I think is optimum for the breadth of the most likely forms the coming catastrophe(s) may take, and I seek to remain flexible and agile as necessary to remained founded on my roots in the region. I also have resolved to eschew money except for temporary uses while carrying balances in goodwill with good people that are capable of honestly reckoning in goodwill. Most people aren't capable of it, so I invest in discerning those that can from those that can't. In the worst case scenario, while my health allows it, I can duck out and make do innawoods. This is by far my least preferred option, because my intention is to effect civil society, and that will not achieve that goal. It may be necessary in certain scenarios for a short term, but will not meet my needs for more than a few months in extremely exigent circumstances.

I am sure, and you have stated, we have very different plans and goals, but I note your thinking is outside the box and am struck that we are very different people with very different skills and goals, so it is necessary that our thinking functionally on matters produces disparate plans. I further find admirable your frank manner and statements. It is necessary to keep a narrative that directs people's feet to the ground, gets their head out of the fog that is blown up their skirts, and out of the clouds our arrogance and nescience too often leads us into.

I reckon we need more folks like you talking sense to those that can take advantage of it.

Thanks!

Thanks again for your time in watching my ramblings!

Adaptability must be a primary trait to develop. I hold to the opinion that the more we know, the less we need (and the opposite is also true).

It's inevitable that we will be somewhat tied down to a specific region. Going full nomadic is impossible here in England, but in other parts of the world due to geographical location, is somewhat possible. However it doesn't hurt to keep things low maintainence, to have a base, and still be able to move and inject/eject oneself into self-reliant communities.

All we need is to get through the initial hurdles when things truly get bad. Even with just a month of food store will put most above the majority, as the majority do not plan at all for anything. When the hurdle settles, probably will take 1-3 months, if it's time to bounce and leave everything behind, then one can do so.

But not being dependent on the monetary system....that is the problem here. That option is available for you and i, but not for the majority, only because they have so much invested into this system. I'm still trying to find more solutions to this myself.

Thanks for the encouragement! I hope my videos on this subject helps more people plan better for the days to come.