New Naira Crisis: All hell is breaking loose in Nigeria.

in Deep Diveslast year

During one of my very short outdoor movements yesterday, I got to witness so many acts of unrest from fellow Nigerians in the city of Ibadan.

emmanuel-ikwuegbu-T4q6ZPpYjog-unsplash.jpg

Banks were being destroyed. Roads were blocked. Cars were ruined. All these were happening in form of a protest by Nigerians against the current scarcity of paper money, fuel and electricity. I still don't know if any lives were lost in that particular protest. I genuinely hope it didn't get to that.

This isn't the first time we are seeing this type of reaction from Nigerians. I don't know if it's an issue with us being underdeveloped or if this is just how things work here, but these public display of violence and destruction of public properties has been the last resort that Citizens use to send a message to the government.

It says a lot about how awful things have been in this part of the world, right?

We truly live in a crazy world!

While you can make cases against the adoption of highly violent strategies like the ones I described above as opposed to dialogue, it's hard to not understand the fact that people are already pushed to the wall by the highly oppressive policies of our government. It's appalling. You sure don't want to imagine what it's like to have money in the bank, but you can't withdraw the money because of the very low volume of redesigned Naira which is in circulation.

The electricity issue is something we've been dealing with since antiquity. From the moment I learned how to spell my name, I've always been well aware of the poor electricity supply in the country. The issue of fuel scarcity and hikes in the price of fuel is also an issue which we may have to deal with till perpetuity. But this issue of Nationwide scarcity of paper money is a new type of issue.

Banks say they don't have the redesigned currency to give those that wants to make withdrawal. POS terminals are also low on cash. Even when you see a place to withdraw, you will end up sacrificing as high as 20% of whatever you are withdrawing.

Mannn, I'm gutted by what I'm seeing in this country. I saw a couple of video clips of people going unclad in banking halls to protest against this issue. All these are clear indication that Nigeria is already in distress. It's getting worse with each passing day.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
Thumbnail Image taken from Unsplash

Sort:  

I sat down to cry yesterday, I'm frustrated, the whole thing is messing with my mind.

My dear, this country is going down the drain and many of us are in huge mess already. I just don't get it. The chaos is too much and the suffering is unexplainable.

With the election underway, I strongly suggest we all prepare for worst. I'm already restocking my home with enough food item to last two months. Hopefully, I will lay hands on enough cash to also last a month. I can't allow this country to trap me or my loved ones.

Stay safe over there ✌️

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (3/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIMP from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Take it easy sis, this too will soon pass, it affected almost everyone,

Take it easy sis, this too will soon pass, it affected almost everyone. May God help us

Omo omo omo.. I just didn't want to cry, I'd have been wailing already.

Banks would be filled with security personnels as the bankers are the first target. If Nigerians could reach CBN they'd probably continue that riot there because it's actually getting out of hand.

This artificial scarcity of money is sickening, causing businessmen and women to go at a loss.

The fuel price hike is also another issue. Transportation fee has been doubled to every single place .

But the electricity? It has always been like that. Maybe they're adding it to their riot propaganda because they are tired of staying without electricity. Funny how Nigerian supplies electricity to other countries yet, their electricity distribution is bad.

A lot of business are already running on loss just because they don't have the facilities to go cashless at the moment. Imagine entering bike or boarding a bus and asking the driver for his account number. Lolz. It's not even funny at all. People are stuck in places.

I just managed to get back from Lagos to Ibadan few days ago. Funny enough, I boarded a train yet they didn't accept cashless transaction. All of them are looking for cash despite the fact that train services are under the management of government. The same government pushing for cashless economy.

As for electricity and petrol, those ones are still pressing our neck. It's insane.

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (4/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Totally insane . I don't even know where we're headed. With the up coming presidential election, I hope they would be a change for the better.

I wrote about the same exact thing after I had a terrible experience yesterday at the bank.

Hmmm... I don't even know the last time I went to a bank. It's probably sometime in the first quarter of 2021 when I was still working in the bank.

We are in chaos. It sadly seems like bigger chaos is on the way.

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

See ehn.. yesterday night I was thinking of what possible solution can come in the shortest time and I saw none. Didn't know when I started praying for Nigeria, it was from a place of pain and burden.

But first things first, 25th February, I'm going to Vote in Peter Obi. Some fresh air for a change!

My dear. Things have gotten to the stage where we can no longer cross our legs and wait for a miracle to happen.

That forthcoming election is a very important time for us to backup our expectations with action

Yes, we need to back up with our actions.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 141 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Nigeria and their new naira note problem

The problem is too much. It's not easy to be in Nigeria at the moment

I feel bad for those people who are suffering in Nigeria. I think it's the fault of the government. If they were not capable to exchange then why government set a deadline? Or it's a pre-planned thing to gain some assets from the general people.

It's actually a preplanned strategy to use as weapon against political opponents. The problem is that we Nigerians are the ones suffering from the consequence of all these. It's so weird.

That's the reality. Only general people suffer, doesn't matter what the reason. I really feel angry about seeing such kind of act.

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @amiegeoffrey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks so much

You welcome

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kenechukwu97.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Want to here a joke about pizza?
It's a little cheesy.

Credit: boboman
@kenechukwu97, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hiq.smartbot

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/2)

Thanks so much

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (3/5) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻