You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LOGICZOMBIE

in Deep Dives3 years ago

Again, your explanation likes clarity because I agree but I receive that different from how you’re giving it to me I receive that as “objective” morals are just a list of principles which inform what is “objectively” good and what is “objectively” bad. You are right about one thing though, I don’t understand what subjective morality is that’s why I view it as objective.

I think you might be confusing the term "objective" with "dispassionate, unchanging, procrustean, universal".

Even a dispassionate, unchanging, procrustean, universal standard is SUBJECTIVE.

For example,

A computer program that determines your credit score.

Ideally the computer would treat everyone "equally" (but not really equally because then everyone would have the same credit score).

Ideally the computer would apply the same factors the same weight for everyone.

BUT THE PART WE FORGET IS THE HIDDEN AXIOMS OF THE COMPUTER PROGRAMMER.

Just because the program isn't INTENTIONALLY unfair, this immunity to INTENTIONALITY does not mean that the computer program IS ACTUALLY AND OBJECTIVELY FAIR.