You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to include in my video?....Suggestions ?......Oh, and toxic accounts....

in Deep Dives3 years ago

I've been saying this since I started here in 2016. Flagging needs to follow a very specific set of rules and there needs to be a provision made for dispute resolution when people abuse the function. That's the nature of people being social. They say stupid things. If flagging is done when people say stupid things, you're not allowing them to be social any more.

Also, this is supposed to be a self organizing system with anarchic structure. People spend way too much time forming groups for the purpose of curation IMO. The good stuff will rise to the top on its own Because people will just like it more. If you meddle with it, you can only make things worse, and I think we've got enough data with 5 years of this nonsense to vindicate my original assertion. A bunch of great content producers have been driven off the platform and it never scaled. Something is obviously broken.

Sort:  

I agree with you. A set of reasons to downvote would be appropriate. I have always been under the impression that an upvote represents the value of the post to the community as a whole and a downvote shows that it has no value for the community. I don't look at NSFW material on here. I don't think it has value for me, but I wouldn't take my time to downvote it because I'm sure someone is getting value from it. On the other hand, if someone is plagiarizing, and I can prove it, I'll downvote it.

ALGORAND.

if something gets flagged, then an alert goes to a RANDOM SAMPLE of 100 accounts. If an account fails to respond in 24 hours, their option is forfeit and their option goes to another random account.

60 of these delegates vote on whether to remove the flagged content (in exchange for some compensation in ALGORAND) with a bonus for voting with the majority (if there is a majority of at least 60 votes).

if there's a 59/41 split,the content remains unaffected.

there needs to be a provision made for dispute resolution

ALGORAND.

if something gets flagged, then an alert goes to a RANDOM SAMPLE of 100 accounts. If an account fails to respond in 24 hours, their option is forfeit and their option goes to another random account.

60 of these delegates vote on whether to remove the flagged content (in exchange for some compensation in ALGORAND) with a bonus for voting with the majority (if there is a majority of at least 60 votes).

if there's a 59/41 split,the content remains unaffected.