You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's funny about that?

in Deep Dives4 years ago

I don't think it is limited to just the lonely or basement dwellers, I do think a lot of it is from people with mental issues though.

Neither do I, but I do think many of them are lonely - not necessarily alone though.

THere is very little "good" out there now. I have been meaning to write a piece for a while on how superhero movies and shows potentially have the opposite effect of having people to look up to - if anything, it makes people feel more powerless as they are not special, therefore have an excuse not to be extraordinary.

I think though, that a lot of people are jumping on topic bandwagons they have no real intereest in, but like to take part enacting social group punishment.

Not much normal anymore. I was just thinking about this today in regards to a family member.

Sort:  

"Social group punishment" that is something I have never really understood. It is part of why I am at odds with myself concerning blacklist, I hate them, but see them sometimes as needed, but then there is no coming back from the brink of a black list once on it. Then again, we can not just blindly forgive for a promise not to do it again, or the simple statement I made a mistake.

I believe everyone can change if they want to, but when it comes to making money/profiteering people have a strong tendency to not change and make simplistic excuses like I'm doing it for my family. It's an excuse, should they be blacklisted for life, some individuals I have seen I feel yes, some I see I feel no.

I do feel that if a person or a group is going to run a blacklist then they need to state why a person/account is on that list and show the initial reasoning, not just a blanket statement they plagiarized.

but then there is no coming back from the brink of a black list once on it.

This is a problem, but after 4 years I have learned, most don't want to come back - they start a new account and attempt a new vector of abuse.

I do feel that if a person or a group is going to run a blacklist then they need to state why a person/account is on that list and show the initial reasoning, not just a blanket statement they plagiarized.

Perhaps a link (from the blacklist number) to a page that lists the reasons with some details.

Perhaps a link (from the blacklist number) to a page that lists the reasons with some details.

This or something similar I would like to see. It is something I need to work out for myself I guess in my stance on blacklist. I know of bad actors, so for now since I really do not want to be associated with black listed accounts unless I know the person/account has changed, I sort of follow the black list when it comes to following accounts/voting on content from those accounts.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.