You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's funny about that?

in Deep Dives4 years ago

It’s funny, but certainly not haha funny. I think the desire for contest via petty scores remains the number one motivator in online spaces. I think back to last night, as I played a game with @ithinkitsrose. It came to end but unfortunately we did not win the match of Quick Play in Overwatch. Is there any reason I was called a trash bag, other than to invite discontent? Why would anyone incite another in what remains a largely singular experience, that is of a team-based casual, first person shooter with random teammates? Maybe it’s the rush, or a projection of insecurity, but it’s not in my interest to understand it. I’m a long way from mastery, but I feel the progress because the comments did not cause me to even blink.

Sort:  

Definitely not haha funny :)

I think the desire for contest via petty scores remains the number one motivator in online spaces.

Yes, but what is keeping score?

Why would anyone incite another in what remains a largely singular experience, that is of a team-based casual, first person shooter with random teammates?

Insecurity for the most part - though people like to think they are Jordan and it is all intentional. What I found from playing was how emotionally uncontrolled most people are when it comes to even the most insignificant of activities.

Use it as part of your practice :)

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Could also be blunt rage! An outburst of anger that overwhelmed your teammate.

How did you feel after losing?

Could also be blunt rage!

Isn't that a potential legal defense?

Yes, I think so, too. Still never worked for me at Home-Court so far, that I can testify under oath.

Home court is the toughest of all to beat and the punishments are the most severe.

You know how it is and young adults are the most ruthless judges, by FAR - no joke.

You know that experiment where they get people to electrocute a stranger by pressing a button? Millennials would demand it be made into an app and have a social movement to make it a legal right that it can be used on anyone who doesn't agree with them.

Imagine School with that technology :D

This was an excellent question. I felt amused the game could incite such emotions unrequited that insults flew. The feeling involved much reflection so, I felt pensive. Do I play to win or play to socialize? I do both; which sometimes come into conflict with each other. Winning ain’t everything.

It sounds like you are emotionally way more centered and calm then you might consider urself to be. Maybe you can't expect random web encounters to be as balanced as you are.

I like your comments a lot. I would do well to remember what you've said here.