Sort:  

as that's a word that scares a lot of Americans. Let's call it what it is: an investment in each other

Not to get too off topic but maybe the reason the word scares us is because here taxes are usually not used as an investment in each other.. we just live under the guise that they do.

Great post, I loved it. I'm not sure what the other commenter's definition of "commie" is but I can certainly tell it's not correct. But, I'm not in for an argument on HIVE right now so I'll leave that here; and whoever wants to challenge me on that subject is more than welcome to :) I'm just not going to instigate myself

Keep up the good work. I've been behind on HIVE but I always enjoy seeing your posts!

Not to get too off topic but maybe the reason the word scares us is because here taxes are usually not used as an investment in each other.

That's fair criticism, and you're right. But that's not the reason given by libertarians and others who are against taxation; they don't care what it's used for, they say that taxation is theft, they oppose the entire concept of taxation. But you're right of course; it's completely legitimate to oppose the way your tax dollars are being spent, especially in America where the people pay for wars and domestic surveillance programs they never asked for...

And thanks so much for the kind words!

I hear ya, and I'm certainly not agreeing with them. I personally feel as though my taxes are stolen from me, but that's due to your points about going towards funding things I do not support. Therefore I kind of see taxation as theft because that's the reality of my life, and that leaves a pretty bad impression when you're younger and barely(not even really, just not) surviving and the government is taking your money to give it to rich people and the programs that will benefit those with resources rather than benefit those without AKA my community.

However, if I were able to choose that my taxes went to the things I support, and not a war machine, I would be all for it. It's a weird paradox. I hate taxes now, but I don't disagree with taxation. But I also don't see a reality in which fair taxation will ever exist; at least not in this country.

Anyways, sorry haha. Now I'm just kind of arguing with myself within a comment to you. You got my mind moving..

I hate taxes now, but I don't disagree with taxation.

Exactly!
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts @herbertholmes2 🙂

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your post is reblogged and upvoted by me. It is a good post. Thank you @zyx066

But is it true? Is competition really good, or healthy?

Competition is neither good, bad, healthy or unhealthy ...

It's the natural system of evolution in every living organism.

Of course if you want to change natural systems that have been in place for the last, oh, I dunno....2 BILLION years...OR... you can become a commie with a god complex, and try fight nature's rhythms....

...good luck with that one!... lolol...