Barefoot for a year - Getting my childhood feet back

in ecoTrainlast year

Barefoot For A Year

GETTING MY CHILDHOOD FEET BACK


I bought these shoes in very late 2021 and wore them nearly every day in 2022 come rain, shine, hot or cold. I wanted something minimalist, flat (barefoot), black, light, waterproof and with a wide toe box. I have wide feet and I was just fed up of my feet being squashed together in shoes. I also grew up only wearing shoes when I had to - to school or a formal event. Every other time I was barefoot, even in the city centre. My parents hated it, but my best friend and I just loved it. Luckily, I never got any serious injuries like stepping on broken glass or nails. I did, instead, develop extremely strong and resilient feet.

"Barefoot" shoes

Barefoot shoes, also known as minimalist shoes, are designed to mimic the feel of walking barefoot while still providing some protection for the feet. They typically have a very thin, flexible sole and a wide, roomy toe box to allow for natural movement of the toes. The idea behind barefoot shoes is that they allow the feet to function as they would if you were actually barefoot, which some people believe can improve posture, balance, and overall foot health.

One of the main benefits of barefoot shoes is that they can help to strengthen the muscles in the feet and lower legs. When you wear traditional shoes with a thick, cushioned sole, your feet don't have to work as hard to support your body weight. This can lead to weak foot muscles, which in turn can cause problems such as "plantar fasciitis" and "metatarsalgia". By contrast, barefoot shoes allow your feet to work as they were designed to, which can help to strengthen the muscles and improve overall foot health.

Another potential benefit of barefoot shoes is that they can help to improve posture and balance. By allowing your feet to move and function naturally, barefoot shoes can help you to maintain a more stable, upright position when you walk or run. This can be especially beneficial for people with flat feet or over-pronation, as it can help to reduce the strain on the feet and lower legs.

However, it's important to note that barefoot shoes may not be suitable for everyone, and it's a good idea to consult with a podiatrist or other medical professional before making the switch. Some people may find that they need a bit more support or cushioning in their shoes, and in these cases, barefoot shoes may not be the best choice. It's also important to start slowly and gradually build up your tolerance to barefoot shoes, as your feet and lower legs may need time to adjust to the new style of footwear.


Surprisingly enough these shoes have held up really well. I expected to have bought another pair but these are still quite viable. I'm going to give them another few months, maybe even till summer, before investing in my next pair.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Which brand do you have? I tried the ones called Barefoot, but they didn't suit me, mainly because the toe box didn't have enough depth.

I use a generic unisex one from Amazon branded "Whitin". I guess feet are different but they suit me well.

That's useful to know, thank you.

I thought I was alone on the free, flat, light kinda shoes. Glad I found someone like me . I believe while walking you shouldn't be dragging your feet along all in the name of the footwear you have on.

100%! If I lived somewhere warm I'd just walk around barefoot most of the time haha.

I have a pair like that. So light, and very flat. 'Down to earth' is what i called them.
I just love comfort and feet squashing is real punishment

I agree. My toes have suffered a bit from being forced into a point.