You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Sweet Super Rare Find & 3 More Curb-Salvaged Items Saved & Sold For $229 Revenue (16+ Pounds)

in ecoTrain3 years ago

What a coincidence that I stumbled on this! There have been very few video games I've liked over the years, and I just remembered this Simpsons one a few days ago and was trying to recall it! I think we rented it from Blockbuster back in the day. Wow, it's worth that much now, huh! Cool find! I really appreciate what you're doing. Do you exclusively rescue stuff from curbs? When I lived in the city it was an absolute frickin gold mine in the alleys, and I easily would have been able to make a very nice living for myself entirely off of trash if I had had a car back then. Not much in terms of curbside stuff in the smaller city I'm living in now unless there's something I'm missing. I love rescuing stuff, too!

Sort:  

I quit my job about 6.5 years ago to resell stuff from thrift stores since there were so many in my city and I did well with it. I went to up to 18-19 stores a day. Unplugged from corporate, I quickly realized all of the recycling on my curbs and started walking at night to rescue stuff to sell. It was all in my immediate neighborhood in grid zones per evening. It started becoming far easier and more fun than the thrift store grind as prices went up and better merchandise started being sent to online auction there, so I dug into the curbs more. There are massive piles of clear plastic bags and paper goods, and black trash bags, and I can exclusively make plenty of income to cover the bills from it. It became an environmental charge for me and I do it for the impact more than anything. I’ve invested the money wisely early in crypto, so it’s truly been trash to treasure. Check back in my blog or google image search my name and recycling for thousands of examples. I keep records of everything I sell, record the weight, and use recycled packaging I save for almost every package. I also sell a lot locally for cash. If you can think of it, I’ve found it. From memory, my record cash sales of free stuff are $3,200 and $2,700 I think. I’ve resold almost 5,000 items I’ve personally flipped or found for free, with the majority being from the curbs. I’ve also given plenty away to friends/family, donated them to thrift stores, or kept things for myself. There is a lot of affluence by me, so these are very good items, and almost always clean and ready to use. If not, I clean, fix, troubleshoot, or part them out for sale or use. I post on this a few times a week, so follow for more.

PS, as I was reading your comment a recycled item sold for $114 online now. You were good luck.

Everything you're talking about is my passion. I think it's really cool that you record the weight of everything you save from the landfill! I rescue stuff from thrifts, but it's immensely more of a rescue what you're doing! I've been reselling for over a decade.