A Sweet Super Rare Find & 3 More Curb-Salvaged Items Saved & Sold For $229 Revenue (16+ Pounds)

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

After walking for 90 minutes in 30 degree weather starting at 1:15 AM, I finally found the big win at the very end of my route. It was literally the last pile to look at.

I'd found about $250 of stuff before, but nothing exciting. Often enough, the end of a walk usually rewards my extra hustle in the elements with a "sign" that I did my job. This helps me feel less crazy for walking outside in the middle of the night in the cold to pursue a good cause.

I first noticed a bag of CDs that was peeking out from under a large pile. I pulled it out and noticed another bag of DVDs. It seemed like the guy (from his ID card he left in the bag) tossed out his entire hoard of college media. I plucked a few items and trusted my intuition that there was probably more. With that in mind, I moved a mountain of large clear recycling bags to check the contents of every one. My gut was right, 4 or 5 more bags full of CDs, DVDs, and a few video and computer games presented themselves.

The winning pick was this brand new and factory sealed Simpsons Xbox game from 2001. It had dried stuff all over it, but I knew I could remove it with rubbing alcohol since the seal was fully intact.

This game sells for $300-$500 as is. I should get over $400 in the middle. The Hit & Run game has sold upwards of $900 ungraded, so while this one is older, the other is clearly a bit more desirable for some reason. For being so scarce, I can essentially name my price and it'll sell in a month or two.

image.png

This is what it looked like when I brought it home.

image.png

While I took some other stuff, here are a few notable things that aren't worth much, but they're sealed new in plastic. I couldn't let that go to waste as holiday shoppers are gearing up.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Again, nothing fancy, but all factory sealed. There were hundreds of DVDs and CDs I couldn't take, but I made a dent with what I felt people would buy. The only way to save the other media would've been to take the bags to a thrift store, but I couldn't carry it all, and the stores were obviously closed. I can only do what I can.

The other finds from the evening before this haul were worth more in sum (one shown below), but I'll post the rest when they sell.


Recent Curb-Salvaged Sales:

Sales of recycled stuff were slow this week with the holiday and my focus on crypto. I also had to spend a lot of time trying to combat an abusive buyer who forced a return on me under false pretenses (they're stupid) for $280+. I'll be able to resell the item, but this is why selling clothes online is my pet peeve. People can be paranoid and panic to assume incorrectly. I was able to verify that their claim was BS, but the platform had already closed the case in the sneaky buyer's favor when they called at 6 AM to escalate behind my back - while we were discussing the situation in emails. I was able to push back and recover about $50 of the fees and shipping from customer support, while my request for a credit for one more $14 label is pending. This happens 1-3 times a year and I hate it. Anyway, I do have a few decent cash sales up in the air that should pan out over the next couple of days. When it's quiet, it's time to list aggressively.

image.png

This set of 4 vintage Le Creuset cast iron enameled cookware sold for $150 cash to a woman whose kitchen caught fire while she was on vacation to ruin her previous set. I had a 5th piece with this find (the nicest of the set), but gave the pan to my neighbor as a thank you gift.

After digging them out of bags in the rain.

image.png

Recycled weight of 14 pounds 6 ounces.

image.png

Oh, and that scale was salvaged too.


image.png

I found this Vans sweater new with tags in factory plastic. I sold it online for $39. I also found a J-Crew Polo new in sealed factory plastic. Go figure... This is also a rare case of when I used a stock photo on my listing and forgot to take a picture for my own records. I may have one somewhere from before deciding that the stock photos looked more professional, but it doesn't matter.

Weight with recycled packaging of 1 pound 8 ounces.


image.png

I found this tiny vintage Gucci fob last week and sold it online right away for $40. It fell loose in the bottom of a bag I was holding up and rotating as I saw some wires and an antique silver plate candle holder in it. The fob is worth $50+, but I discounted mine for a light scratch on the back side. It sold quickly so I probably made it too low. A win is a win though.

Weight with recycled packaging of 4.5 ounces.


Summary:

  • 3 items sold for $229 revenue = $76.33 each.
  • 66% received as cash.
  • Total weight of salvaged items and recycled packaging of just over 16 pounds.

...Every bit counts.


In closing, as those who know me over the years can appreciate, the value in my post isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I post about. It's about the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit off-chain to produce the posts, and goal of motivating others to address this problem. Hive is not the answer. Actions are the answer.

Thanks as always for your interest and support.

Liquid proceeds from this post will go towards my @splinterlands Plot (despite liquid HBD getting crushed right now).

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

What a coincidence that I stumbled on this! There have been very few video games I've liked over the years, and I just remembered this Simpsons one a few days ago and was trying to recall it! I think we rented it from Blockbuster back in the day. Wow, it's worth that much now, huh! Cool find! I really appreciate what you're doing. Do you exclusively rescue stuff from curbs? When I lived in the city it was an absolute frickin gold mine in the alleys, and I easily would have been able to make a very nice living for myself entirely off of trash if I had had a car back then. Not much in terms of curbside stuff in the smaller city I'm living in now unless there's something I'm missing. I love rescuing stuff, too!

I quit my job about 6.5 years ago to resell stuff from thrift stores since there were so many in my city and I did well with it. I went to up to 18-19 stores a day. Unplugged from corporate, I quickly realized all of the recycling on my curbs and started walking at night to rescue stuff to sell. It was all in my immediate neighborhood in grid zones per evening. It started becoming far easier and more fun than the thrift store grind as prices went up and better merchandise started being sent to online auction there, so I dug into the curbs more. There are massive piles of clear plastic bags and paper goods, and black trash bags, and I can exclusively make plenty of income to cover the bills from it. It became an environmental charge for me and I do it for the impact more than anything. I’ve invested the money wisely early in crypto, so it’s truly been trash to treasure. Check back in my blog or google image search my name and recycling for thousands of examples. I keep records of everything I sell, record the weight, and use recycled packaging I save for almost every package. I also sell a lot locally for cash. If you can think of it, I’ve found it. From memory, my record cash sales of free stuff are $3,200 and $2,700 I think. I’ve resold almost 5,000 items I’ve personally flipped or found for free, with the majority being from the curbs. I’ve also given plenty away to friends/family, donated them to thrift stores, or kept things for myself. There is a lot of affluence by me, so these are very good items, and almost always clean and ready to use. If not, I clean, fix, troubleshoot, or part them out for sale or use. I post on this a few times a week, so follow for more.

PS, as I was reading your comment a recycled item sold for $114 online now. You were good luck.

Everything you're talking about is my passion. I think it's really cool that you record the weight of everything you save from the landfill! I rescue stuff from thrifts, but it's immensely more of a rescue what you're doing! I've been reselling for over a decade.

Damn, I can't belive that game goes for that much. I wonder if it is worth just buying various Nintendo, Xbox, Playstation games, don't open them and sell them in 20 years for profit

I really like your Punk. Nice value too.

Thanks, I definitely had to get one

What a waste throwing out the Simpson game. I loved playing that back in the day. 😢

I wouldn't be able to do it and even when moving house stacked all of the old ps1, xbox and ps2 games to put in the attic.

Haven't touched them in years but couldn't get rid of them either.

I sold my old PS1 and Super Nintendo games and the consoles on ebay. It takes time to look up their value and list and mail them, but it was worth it and now I know they're being enjoyed by someone else too. :) If you ever decide to sell yours, I had good luck with it!

I love your posts and it always floors me what people will just throw in the trash. So wasteful - of resources and money.

This game sells for $300-$500 as is. I should get over $400 in the middle.

Score! Wow. Just, wow.

I just posted about my salvaged stand mixer today! Do you have any advice about installing a missing switch on such a thing, since I know you repair a lot of stuff? Right now I am using a screwdriver to adjust the mixer speed. I'm keeping an eye on ebay for parts, but I could probably just make something, since I doubt the specific switch all by itself would show up for sale.

!BEER

Is the switch cap a simple black plastic knob that goes over the metal arm that sticks out of the slot? They may have generic replacements based on the dimensions of the slit if you struggle to find the original part. I think any simple cap would do the trick since they stick out of the unit only for the function of manually sliding the speed control.

The metal arm is missing too, ergo me using the screwdriver to slide it back and forth. I'll look for generic options though, thanks! :)

You can take the canopy off and add something into the arm within where a screw and nut can likely be attached. There are often a few screws to remove before it pops right off. Do you hear anything rattling inside (potentially the previous arm)?

I didn't hear anything, but I'll poke around and see what it looks like. Thanks! :)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Hey @steemmatt, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.