A Moment with Mother Nature - EcoTrain QOTW 10.5

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

Before I begin this post, I want to just take a deep breath and soak in the fresh air outside.

My little writing nook for today



It seemed very appropriate to get out of the house (beautiful as my sister's house is!!) and go step out onto the lanai to write this post. No sooner did I slide the glass door, than I was greeted by the singing of the tropical birds. I would try to describe it, but my words would fall severely short of the symphony of sounds I'm hearing. Suffice it to say, she and her family live in a mini-paradise.


The beautiful backyard with pond in the distance


But who defines paradise?

I've always said that I love my mountain paradise. I don't hear the sounds of tropical birds, or live 15 minutes from the ocean, but I do live where the air is crisp and cool, the water is refreshingly pristine, the snow is visible on proud peaks that stand 12,000 feet high, and pumas, bears and wild boars roam the neighborhood. I don't like winter weather very much, but every time I see this picture of our snow-encrusted creek, I fall in love a little bit more with my mountain paradise!

image.png

A totally different kind of paradise - but a paradise, still.


Yet, today I'll talk about another paradise that is, once again, completely different: the ocean.

I've always had a special connection with the sea, but my relationship with it is so much more intimate than what you see splashed across the magazines, ads, and brochures. Don't get me wrong - I love the summer season when tourists flock and frolick. I love the warmer water, the pulse of the crowds, the sound of the boardwalk, the smell of barbecued meals, and the overall energy of the shore.

image.png

But, when peak season arrives, I can't commune with my ocean in the private way that I prefer. I need to share her, and I don't like to share. My special connection is when I have those powerful depths all to myself. It doesn't matter the weather; it can be stormy, overcast, or frosty. I don't mind as long as I have her full attention. I simply like to be able to sit in silence and project my thoughts out over the waves.

image.png

I wonder what it is about the ocean that lulls me into a tranquil trance. I have seen the devastation that water can bring and it is anything but a peaceful ally. It can be powerfully destructive, and downright murderous. It can intimidate and bully, decimate and deceive. I wonder though, if that's part of its allure. Though it is capable of all these things, it also transcends them. It's not human; it's natural. It's not vindictive; it's impersonal. It has no need to flex its ego; its raw wildness simply is. One one hand its supremacy is undeniable, and yet, we have learned to harness it, utilize it, and thrive while subduing it. It's a mother, or an angel of death. It can cleanse, or breed illness. It can bring relief from drought, or flood crops to annihilation.

image.png

When I sit before it, hypnotized, it is all these qualities that mesmerize me. Not only one characteristic captivates, but all - floating in a sea of mystery, depth, and eternality. And I can't help but wonder if the cycle of life will see me return to the earth as dust, and allow the rains to eventually carry me back to the sea, where I will be part of the same power and peace that one day captivates another dreemer like me.



ALL IMAGES ARE MINE, TAKEN BY MY SMARTPHONE! 📸

This has been a joyful post to write for me! And it is my very first post submitted to EcoTrain Community's QUESTION OF THE WEEK. If you have never joined in their QOTW, I highly encourage you to join! They pose wonderful questions to get your mind churning with quality content to share with the rest of the platform! And if you've always wanted to do it, but simply haven't had the nudge to make the leap yet - Please consider joining in for the month of May with our DreemPort Challenge as we support this wonderful community founded by @eco-alex! Not only will you get to network and engage with the community, but you'll also have the opportunity to earn some DREEM tokens as you help DreemPort get more eyes on your work and the work of others! Need to find out more about that?? It's very simple! Check out 👉THIS POST👈 RIGHT HERE! We'd love to read you! ❤️

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

The dichotomy of nature; it’s power and glory, lyrically exposed. Yes, we are mere pawns in her game, but sadly, so is she in ours. This is so gorgeous @dreemsteem , I feel a tear catch on my lash and I can’t shake it off because it is a reminder of the surreal beauty and the mighty terror nature conjures.
Damn, I don’t know how you do it, your writing dredges up subliminal emotion. You wreak me girl, you have that power.
Stupendous
BTW, I just had to tell you that my other iPad crashed so I was unable to submit to DreemPort. Oh woe is ME. I can’t access half my apps, including Ecency on my other device. Soooooo sad 😢😢
Thank you for adding your inspiration to the EcoTrain ❤️😊🤔

img_5041.png

heheh I can submit it for you!

just send me the link :)

and thank you for the compliments! I thought that maybe I got too rambling hahaha but then - I was caught up in my own experience and I just enjoyed it too much!

I guess that's what happens when I don't write often hahahaha too much to say - and too much inside my own head to stop myself LOLOL

sending love! (now you send me the link! haha)

 2 years ago  

You are so talented. OMG the only thing you should do is write ❤️❤️❤️

I agree Stylish. @dreemsteem should write ...lots more 💗... and always happy to drop your posts in if you are struggling with electricity or anything else like that.

 2 years ago  

Got no voting power, as usual. My other iPad crashed. DEAD
All my apps, including Ecency. WASTED. Haha
Thank you @samsmith1971
Luv u oceans ❤️😊🤔
I’m trying to find links, but you know me…STUPID (just don’t tell)

You are my sunshine? Put discord on your phone and ecency

Which post do you want dropped in for today @itsostylish ?

This was beautiful Leah❣️ Through your writing I am moved towards a sense of the beautiful whole, the incredible power, the duality, the perfect balance, the return, and the eternal bliss. We witness such majesty every day, such synchronicity. I think that is why when you truly sit with nature, in nature, and just be... there is something incredibly powerful that happens. It is transformative, reflective, uplifting; a physical manifestation of the Divine. It has the power to cleanse, heal, renew, as well the power to distract and destroy... but ultimately, everything is a beautiful cycle of breaking down to rebuild stronger. And one day we all hope to return to the whole, to the ocean of light and love, where we can dance in the waves for eternity. Am I rambling? 😂 !ALIVE !LUV !LOLZ !PIZZA

sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project

hahahahahaha rambling? if so... I love it!! We share so many of the same views and I love how when we talk about them we just go deeper and marinate even more in them hehehehe
our whatsapp convos were great the other day!!! the right things at the right time! hehehehe

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!!❤️

Timing is EVERYTHING❣️ And yes, it was wonderful. Love you! 💗 And Happy Mother's Day to you too. I hope you get to spend some time with your kids soon xx

Awww what a moment! 😍 Just looking at those views got me smiling ma'am 😊

And you sure do know the words to describe moments with nature 😉

A joyful post indeed, I felt it ❤️

thank you so much!!! Weren't those pictures so beautiful? I'm always in awe of the beauty of sea and sky!!! It moves me like nothing else!! hehehe

thank you for the visit, beautiful girl! 🤗

Yeah, they are so beautiful! 😍

Simply beautiful. I share your love for the sea. Very beautiful photos!
My publication also praises the sea as a natural enclosure, as a sanctuary.

Greetings and Blessings, @dreemsteem!

Thank you so much!!! I will have to read yours as well and enjoy your views of the sea! hehehe

 2 years ago  

😊😊Ooh I got emotional as read your post. Your words did not fail you, but it showed exactly how you felt at that time and the connection you made with nature around you which is amazing. All the images are so beautiful and the sunset image gives me this vacation vibe with loved ones (dreem)😃😄. Nature is indeed ethereal. Thank you for participating in the QOTW. Much love ♥

Hi sweet girl! Thanks for coming to visit - this question really seemed like the perfect one for so many people this week... It let us just relax and step into those nature meditations! hehehehe

I can't wait for the next one! :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thanks so much Ecency!!! :)

Usually the sea has that effect. It's amazing how there are people in the world who still don't know him. But the sea transmits energy, and it is unfortunate that even those who have access to it cannot see what you see, feel what you feel. Not because they can connect with you but because the sea itself is the representation of greatness, of infinity, of calm, of beauty, it is not only what we see but what we smell and feel, all of that washes our spirit if it we give the opportunity. The tide and waves can take charge and bring us positive energy. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. 😎

So beautiful... I felt like I was being swayed gently as I read on and for a moment, I thought I was right there, looking at the sea, getting mesmerized and lost in its wonders. The way you wrote this is so powerful it evokes beautiful emotions all throughout.

And by the way, your sister's place is indeed a paradise, and so is yours❤

The pictures of the ocean is so beautiful, I love the water so looking at it felt so calming.

Indeed looking at the ocean brings a trance, I never understand it.

 2 years ago  

I love how you describe your love for the sea and your mountain paradise is so so captivating. I wouldn´t want to share the moment with anyone either because I want to feel the connection alone, lost in my thought and having to be relieved of stress in me.

The way you write Momma, no wonder you preferred such a cool place to pen down your thought as it keeps flowing into your head and mind 🥰

@dreemport landed me to your post 😎

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 67000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 68000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website