ecoTrain Community Curation December 13th: HOLISTIC SUSTAINABLE LIVING

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @eco-alex


Hey Everyone! Welcome to our weekly curation where we share a handful of posts that stand out from the rest, and are dedicated to helping make this world a better place! Firstly HUGE apologies to @charleywhittall who had originally made this post and saved it as a draft. Unfortunately i decided to do some spring cleaning and deleted it, ooops! I wonder if we ended up choosing the same posts though! lets hope so ;) There have been SO many posts this week and very happy to see a good number of them relating to the topics we love to support! Our most favourite topic include Sustainability, ecoVillages, Community, Self-sufficiency, Off-grid Living, Homesteading, Permaculture, Alternative Energy, Alternative Lifestyle, Natural Health, Cooking, Eco-Building, Earthships, Recycling, Esoteric, Inner Transformation, Spiritual, and of course Nature!

So thank you to everyone who does share their wisdom and positivity with the ecoTrain community! Its great too see so many of you getting rewarded, and a special thanks to @tribesteemup for trailing the ecoTrain vote so that I can continue to spread the Hive abundance far and wide! I love to see all our newcomers to Hive also receive a nice upvote and I hope that these help to incentify you to keep posting great content to the community!

So this week i would like to share six posts that i think were really great, and cover a pretty varied range of topics. Great work everyone, keep em coming!

@mrprofessor

Off to the Ranch #7: Garden Journal | Fruit trees & more

Gibbe a lemonade! Our lemon trees are far from bearing fruits, but I can already dream of lemonade on a sunny summer day, after busting mah butt cycling.

I'm impressed by how the fruit trees have grown since I last came to the ranch. Same for the vegetables in the little garden we have outside the house. It looks like we are on track to a more sustainable property and to a whole new series of posts in this blog (If I don't take off on a new adventure). Anyways.

This is my first — of many, if we continue evolving the ranch — #gardenjournal. It's a shame I have waited so long to explore this aspect of life. In Brazil, for whatever reason, gardening is not incentivised in the school other than showing kids how a bean grows on stupid cotton. We don't have garden plots for rent either, as I saw in London, during the first month at an incredible family's house.

Although I grew up around my grandparents' gardens, I've never developed the culture of appreciating gardening. It wasn't until I realized how we can cut our living expenses to the bare minimum that my interest sparkled.

READ MORE


@rukeros

New mudstove in our forest home, this is how we made it

Wazzup Hivers? Today we share some important technological progress in our life in the forest. All this time we've been cooking on a ground fire, with this old piece of metal we found at an abandoned hydroelectric plant, but we're finally changing that.

We had an ambitious stove pĺan but things aren't as easy as they seem. Since most of the materials we use we gather in Nature, things can be very time and energy-consuming. We had to go gather stones both up the hill and down the river, sand at a slope near the forest, clay at the edge of the road. We also had to drink a lot of beer to have all the cans we used, not that we wanted to drink all that!

READ MORE


@winniekal

MANAGING YOUR TIME WELL FOR OPTIMAL PRODUCTIVITY

Time management plays a big role in the life of someone who wants to be successful. Oftentimes, it seems like we do not have enough time to get things done, but the fact is that you'd have to manage your time well if you want to be more productive. It is not possible to stop time and it cannot be saved, either. Time is your greatest asset and what you do with your time determines the kind of result you will get.

Just the way you think, and plan before you spend money, it is also applicable to time. It is important to manage your time well by doing the right thing at the right time. The daily habit of dedicating some moment in the day, especially in the morning to think about how you want to spend your time, is a sign that you will be at the top of your game more than your peers who do not have a set plan.

READ MORE


@samstonehill

The creativity of Christmas decoration day 🎄

We've had a tree in our courtyard for a few weeks now but it wasn't until Sabrina's dad came to visit that we found the momentum to erect it. Men enjoy such challenges of course ;)

Here he is making some alterations, in order that it will fit in it's stand.

I took some time off at this point to do another module of my trading classes in my 'office' right at the back of the house, where (ideally) I am not disturbed. I am basically at school right now, learning to be an awesome trader. Will tell you more about my experiences with this in a dedicated post.

READ MORE


@anyelina93

5 good news stories about environmental preservation that can be overlooked amidst today's pessimism and negativity.

Hello dear friends of ecotrain, I hope you are all very well and are having a nice week, I know I have been some time without posting and I apologize about it, I have been busy in other projects. But I'm back. And today I want to talk to you about the things that are being done well and that perhaps in these complex times we live in have been overlooked... although the dangers of climate change still exist and it is difficult to think positively between pandemics and global crises. We should celebrate the small victories and support those who made them possible... that said, let's begin.

Recent studies showed that on Virginia's beaches the pilot project to place wind turbines about 27 miles offshore had an unexpected consequence, because due to the relatively calm conditions, the absence of fishing boats in the area and the placement of the structures, several species of fish, turtles and other creatures have decided to make the area their habitat,

READ MORE


@ultravioletmag

How I got rid of depression

I just commented on someones post that was experiencing depression and I felt that it was a good thing to share my own experience. I think most creatives at some point experience depression, perhaps most people. Yet it is so stigmatised to talk about it and still seems to come with it a sense of shame. Creatives probably experience it very easily because we are very internal, inward people who explore our emotions on a deep level, from a very young age, hence the need to then express onto canvas, music, acting etc.

I had severe depression in my second year of university, it was so bad I just didn't know how I could get through, so I do understand how people feel, even though for me now it is somewhat of a distant memory. I will share my story in case it helps anyone who is currently experiencing it in any way.


READ MORE


WHAT'S HAPPENING THIS WEEK ?

ecoTrain QOTW Season 8.6 FINALE: What Prevents Action? JOIN US!

The question of the week is on and you still have four days to post. The question this week is W"hat Prevents Action?". This is the last question of season 8 on the theme of action to join us and have a chance of winning $10!

READ POST

 

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO HAS POSTED THIS WEEK! YOU MAKE THIS COMMUNITY WHAT IT IS!


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY


Sort:  

Thanks for the tremendous support and for choosing my post.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thankyou so much to one of my favourite communities on hive <3

 2 years ago  

awe!! no one said that to me in about three years! ;) <3 big hugs!

really? that surprises me I think sometimes we expect people hear it all the time and forget how important it is to hear people are valued sometimes! <3

 2 years ago  

MMMhum! yes dear yes

Thank you for the lovely support! And now I've gotta check that mud stove post, as I've always wanted to create one.

Thanks for sharing our work and all the hard work to keep this train going 💚

Congratulations @ecotrain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!