ecoTrain Cooking on A Budget Competition! Week 1: Making a humble potato Shine! $50 in Prizes

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

week1.jpg

Welcome to a brand new cooking competition with ecoTrain! I'm very happy to launch this new competition with the theme of Cooking on a budget! Eating healthy and eating beautiful tasty food does not have to cost a fortune and during this competition I will be asking you to create some great tasting and also healthy dishes using simple and cheap ingredients that we can all find in our local stores and even our own gardens if you do grow your own food. I hope that this competition will inspire us all, and allow us to share our own recipes so that we can not only inspire others but also ourselves to be creative and try out some new ideas that we may have never tried before!

This first week we start with the humble potato, and ask you to come up with a dish that features potato as the star of the show! Potatoes are rich in vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, which make them very healthy. Studies have linked potatoes and their nutrients to a variety of impressive health benefits, including improved blood sugar control, reduced heart disease risk and higher immunity. There must be a thousand ways to cook potatoes or work with them, and potatoes combine well with almost any other foods. One of my old time favorites is baked potato with coleslaw and salad which is not only very healthy but also very cheap and made from such basic ingredients. With a little imagination and the addition of a few other choice ingredients it is possible to make a delicious meal that is satisfying and very healthy also. Since this is not a medicinal cooking competition you are also allowed to to have a bit more fun, but its always nice to keep these recipes balanced and nutritious.

$50 IN PRIZES!

Throughout this competition I will be awarding a total of $50 in prizes each week to the best posts. @charleywhittall and I will choose 5 talented winners each week and award the prizes as HBD as a tip on your post. These prizes will appear in your wallet ready for you to power up or use as you like. I hope this helps to encourage you and inspire you to create some great dishes!

Bonus points will for sure go to those who post with good pictures, and a write up of what you think makes your dish healthy.

So without further ado here are the guidelines!

POSTING GUIDELINES

  1. Please try out the recipes yourself and take photos of your finished dish.
  2. You must Subscribe to post to the ecoTrain community.
  3. It's important to use the tags #cookingonabudget and #ecotrain so that it is easy to find your post and group all the posts in Week 1.
  4. Your thumbnail should be a photo of your dish with a written note by the dish that includes your Hive username.
  5. You must leave a link to your recipe post in the comments below this post to be eligible for prizes!
  6. The deadline for week one submissions is Tuesday 14th December

Please comment if you have any questions!

INSPIRATION!

If you would like a little bit of inspiration here are some photos of some amazing potato based dishes! Im sure you can see, they look just delicious!

gallery-1504289153-delish-cheesy-garlic-butter-potatoes-pinterest-still003.jpeg

potato3.jpeg

potato4.jpeg

potato5.jpeg

potato6.jpeg

potato7.jpeg

potato8.jpeg

potato9.jpeg

potato11.jpeg

potato12.jpeg

potato13.jpeg

potato14.jpeg

potato10.jpeg

CHECK OUT PREVIOUS ECOTRAIN COMPETITIONS

ecoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition Week 4 FINALE

READ POST


ecoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition Week 3 AWARDS!

READ POST


ecoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition Week 2 Awards

READ POST


The Medicinal Cooking Competition Launch!

READ POST

 


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Veg or Non-veg ?

 2 years ago  

as u wish! so long as the potato is the star :)

 2 years ago  

Then we are preparing one simple fish menu today, will post. Pretty affordable..

 2 years ago  

ok sounds good! curious how the potato will feature!

Glad to see this contest is back. thank you Ecotrain.

Thank you for starting again with this initiative, I hope you are already in better health! The potato is a food loved by many people in the world, I think we will have a lot of fun with this week's challenge, greetings!

 2 years ago  

thanks for your comment vicmito! My health is improving although i seem to have a constant headache.. no idea about that as nothing seems to shift it.. thanks for you concern <3

Thank God you are better, apparently the headache remains for a long time, we trust that you will heal completely soon, try to drink liquids and eat a lot of pineapple and milk, greetings!

A Mr. Potato contest? Sounds nice. 😊 I !LUV me potatoes.

 2 years ago  

thats great.. i hope you join us!

I hope so too... 😂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ecotrain.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

are we only allowed to use potatoes?

 2 years ago  

U can use other things but the potatoes are the main part ofnthe the dish

can we upload the blog through 3speak?

 2 years ago  

Sure why not! ;)

vlcsnap_2021_12_08_05h07m43s541.png

vlcsnap_2021_12_08_05h07m50s830.png

vlcsnap_2021_12_08_05h07m56s603.png

vlcsnap_2021_12_08_05h08m02s809.png

I think my mom will kill me when she see this

 2 years ago (edited) 

LOL! looks like my kitchen when i cook
can u believe my mum use to try to pay me $10 to NOT cook when i was 12 years old! (for this very reason)

Wow that looks delicious 😍 here in my country the potatoes are very common, so I have been eating them since my childhood

I would have loved to participate in this competition, but potatoes are cost here.... I just hope the competition goes well

Here I share my potato cake with meat
https://hive.blog/hive-123046/@anfood/potato-cakes-with-meat
Thanks @ecotrain and @eco-alex

cake.png

Hello!!☺️
I hope you are in better health. What an interesting challenge! I love it... Already with something in mind to show.👍👍🌺

This is my entry for this week competition: https://peakd.com/@winnietran/posts
Hope everyone has a nice weekend.

This is my entry https://ecency.com/hive-123046/@trangtran23/novelty-version-of-curry-with

Good luck to everyone who entered the contest with the article you entered.💓💓💓

Hello my dear friends, here is my entry to the contest.
Hola mis queridos amigos, aca mi entrada al concurso.
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@vicmito74/potato-salad-and-garlic-potatoes-ensalada-de-patatas-y-patatas-al-ajillo

Oh too bad that I noticed this one only 7 hours before the deadline as I will be sleeping soon. I love potatoes :) Will browse through the entries tomorrow for inspiration :)

I know it's too late, but I still leave here the link to my dish for the Cooking on a Budget competition # 1, Making Potatoes shine! 😪

Se que ya es muy tarde, pero igual les dejo aquí el link de mi platillo para el Cooking on a Budget competition # 1, Making Potatoes shine! 😪

https://hive.blog/hive-123046/@marbrym/potato-roses-or-rosas-de-papa-enores-cooking-on-a-budget-competition-1-making-potatoes-shine

potatoesroses.jpg