ecoTrain Question Of The Week #20 - What is it about music?

in ecoTrain4 years ago

When I saw @ecotrain's question, started to smile, not because the question is funny, but because if I answer the question, my secret will no longer be secret. The question is very good as music is important for many of us but it means different things, that I'm pretty sure of, without even checking the entries.

EfcLDDAkyqgrWe7KyyRHXzeiP1CJfhMppnSKMZVKJNX5Ea9ZKnAK9AYNst9A5xKQpiPY7X5W6SbVLKt3GG3N8cYRatnpe.jpg

source

What is it about music?

Music in my opinion is a universal language that connects people from all over the world. Some people are gifted, or just (more) ambitious, and can speak more than one language, which helps them connect with other people. Others are not so gifted or ambitious and speak only their mother tongue. Music can connect people, even without understanding the lyrics. You can see people at concerts from all over the world having fun, partying together without speaking to each other. Nothing matters there, race, age, social status, nothing, only music. This is a huge thing and I hope everyone gets to experience that.

What Music Means To Me

There are four basic elements of life: Oxygen, hydrogen, nitrogen and phosphorus. For me however there's a fifth element, that is music. Music is part of my life, music is my drug. I've never used any drugs, and I don't think I ever will, but I use music to give me the strength I need in difficult situations. Let me give you a couple of examples to understand what I'm talking about.

Strength

A few years ago I was training myself to run 10km, which was for a virtual event and the first time for me as well as I've never run that distance before. My record was 7km. For some this may seem nothing, for me it means the world as I am living with a back injury and running is not recommended. I am always cautious, listening to my body all the time and know when to stop, so I thought let's try 10km.

Those of you who do or did sports know how important mental strength is. Your body can be trained, you can be ready physically and break down mentally in the middle of the race, hit a wall and give up as you think you can't go any further. I've learned this and also found a way t overcome mental difficulties, with music.

There are certain tracks that can motivate me, cheer me up and give me the strength I need for the next step, whatever that may be. I've learned this a long time ago and using it ever since to get what I want. It's working perfectly and it's my secret, not many know about it as if you can't feel it, you won't understand.

On that particular day, when I knew I'm facing the biggest challenge regarding running, I picked some tracks that I knew are good for me. It was a big deal as a failure could have marked me for life. This wasn't an official competition, I was competing with myself as always, but it meant the world to me. I'm usually quiet about my condition, but about a month ago I could only walk with a walking stick, and that happens every two years or so. This is my secret, not many know about this as I'm not fishing for sympathy here. I'm only telling you this so you can understand what the 10km distance means to me.

At the day of my own race, I took my earpieces, listened to music all the way and was able to run 10km, within a good time. It was the happiest day of my life as far as running is regarded and I know I could have not done it without music. There were difficulties, I felt like I could not go on but was strong and did it.

Overcoming Fear And Pain

The other very good example is the one when I was able to overcome fear and pain, also thanks to music. A few years ago I had to have a head surgery, then one month later another. It was only plastic surgery, no bone was touched, but there were 10 cuts in total on my head and then stitches. I was give local anesthetic but the quantity allowed wasn't enough and till the time the surgeon finished the last one, the the anesthetic was all gone. I was silent the whole time, which appeared to unusual. The doctor asked me if it hurt. I said of course it did. Then he told me I'm probably more tolerant when it comes to pain as his other patients are screaming at the first incision.

Little did he know I was high on music, as I've been listening to music all day long and was more than ready for the surgery. Each surgery took about an hour and I was playing that specific music in my head, to be able to resist. Looking back after a couple of years it seems like heroic what I did and I know it looks like it for outsiders. A great deal of patience and courage needed that day.

These are only two occasions that looked like good examples. These occasions have thought me a good lesson. I have learned that I'm able to overcome many difficulties if I know how. I don't need drugs, alcohol or cigarettes to get there, music is enough for me, it does the job perfectly. Music is an element of life that I could not live without.

What Kind Of Music?

Not every genre of music has the same effect. There are certain types of music that makes me sad, those need to be avoided. Now you're wondering how do I pick my music, right? Truth to be told, music picks me. I like a great variety of music, from classical to rock and EDM. Every genre means something else to me and based on my mood, I pick the one that helps me feel better. No need for medication or other substances, just music.

My other ecoTrain posts:

Sort:  

Great post....! I love the way music has given you the courage for the surgery. You were brave then.

Thank you! Yes, music has that effect on me and I'm glad I've been able to use it to my own advantage.

!ENGAGE 20

Many thanks dear erikah... sorry for the late reply.

No worries, we all have a real life and are busy :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you so much... sorry for the late reply, too busy at the moment.

That was so brave of you, enduring that surgery with without anesthesia. And even amazing that music had conditioned you for it.

I agree with music whist running or exercising. I remember playing a song 3x in succession so I could continue running/jogging nonstop for 4.2km. That was my longest distance running nonstop,but I also used to run daily for 10kms and can't imagine doing the distance without music.

Thank you! Most runners are using music while running, which is understandable but there are runners who are listening to audio books while running.
At first I thought I'd use my running time to practice my English but that has never happened as I would the two are incompatible in my opinion. I need music as fuel 😊

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Little did he know I was high on music, as I've been listening to music all day long and was more than ready for the surgery. Each surgery took about an hour and I was playing that specific music in my head, to be able to resist. Looking back after a couple of years it seems like heroic what I did and I know it looks like it for outsiders. A great deal of patience and courage needed that day.

This is a small sample of what music can do in our lives, you have really been strong to overcome this, the truth is that music is magic, and along with our good energy can do many things unthinkable!

Thanks for posting great content to the @ecoTrain community! We support content about sustainable living and building to help make this world a better place

I fully agree with you. The best thing is that it's cheap or even free and has no side effects, right? 😁

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Great post. I also find music very soothing, when I need to walk for a lot of kilometers! 🤗

Thank you! Music is my fuel when I'm walking, it can work miracles 😊

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 4 years ago  

This post has been submitted to the OCD community curation initiative for some great upvotes! OCD are currently supporting posts in HIVE communities! Congrats and keep posting great content to the ecoTrain community!

 4 years ago  

Your post has been featured in our Question Of The Week tie up post! Come and check it out and discover what everyone else said.. Amazing response this week, thank you for sharing with the ecoTrain community!

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-what-is-is-about-music

Thank you!