Improving my natural fence building game

in ecoTrain2 years ago

It's kind of a dream for me to eventually be able to build everything I might need without the need for any industrially produced materials. I know I'll probably never build a smartphone out of roots 😂 but I wouldn't say its impossible either.

Anyway, as long as I can, I will try to build with local, hand-harvested materials. And this is a great practice for me on that road. Building the fence for my new garden area has taught me a lot about working with willow and how giving it is, I feel it had unlimited potential for the creation of wonderful things. Of course, I'm just a noob, but check me out in a few years, might surprise you.

I had been working forever on this fence because I had so many other things to do and a wounded hand, so I slowly did with the idea in mind that one post per day was enough. Some days I was able to advance faster, but it was mainly done that way, each day I would make sure there was a new post on the fence until the perimeter was finally complete.

Then it was time to tie up the cross bars. Least year I did this with fresh willow bark, but it seems that it's not possible to peal the branches just yet. I think that was done in summer and right now we're in spring in the southern hemisphere. So I tried something new, using green willow sprouts.

I think that was my first try haha. Very messy, I didn't quite understand which sprouts to use and I was using very thick and stiff ones at first. As I practiced I developed an easier way to tie them, as well as developing an eye for the more suitable ones.

See? A little improvement already. But then I got better.

And better.

It begin to feel nice, soothing, and like living a beautiful dream to work on this.

The fence begin taking shape.

I feel that it looks better and is definitely sturdier than the one built last year.

(This is last year's fence)

Now I have to finish the gates, which are being done with the same learned technique.

I would like to film this work and show it in a video so that it could be better appreciated but I'm not easily inspired to edit haha, but I might give it a shot.

On other matters, last week I disconnected from the internet for five days and it was crazy. It's insane what an addiction this is and how hard it is to stay offline, especially being alone with your thoughts day and night. But after day two it became a lot easier and actually really pleasant. I had more time, energy, and inner peace. Now that I've been online I lost all that, but no worries cause I think I'll start doing the offline retreats frequently.

Hope you're enjoying the moment 🔥✨

Blessings, till next one 🌱

Sort:  

I've seen so many DIY posts on Hive, but have never seen anyone use willow to tie the fence. My grandfather and his father used willow for the vine as they had a willow next to the garden. It's a great method and ecological too. Well done and good luck. I'm hoping to see more posts from you as what you do is interesting and organic too.

Our ancestors were so witty and inventive, now we've become to lazy with everything at the reach of our hands. Glad to know you value your ancestry and the post 🙏

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Thanks, didn't know the community, joined!

You're welcome.
Thank you also for subscribing to the Community :)

Score one for our mother nature, I'll wait for your version of smart phone made from natural resources lol.

Ha! Just you wait 😂

this is just brilliant! so clever

Glad you dig it, thanks

Versión hipermejorada del año pasado. Y esos nudos tambien!! Le agarraste la tecnica 👌🏼

Si, más fácil igual q estar pelando los palos jajaj

Congratulations @fenngen! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @fenngen,
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

This is the usual thing we do in our garden before as a trellis for vines. But we were also doing this on the table, fence, etc when we were camping. We term this as lashing.

Makes me glad to know it's used elsewhere 😁 do you use willow as well?