Harvests, First Tomatoes, Culling, Creek - Friday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Yesterday ended up working out pretty well. I was in the garden picking squash and mid way through I sent a text to inquire about potential orders for them with the co-op. I was connected with our new procurement lead Carl and I am now setup for 400 pounds of squash for delivery on Tuesday. The 28 pounds I picked goes a good way towards that total and gave me 340 pounds of squash in the cooler.

IMG_20210730_101235.jpg

While I was picking the squash I noticed some of the tomatoes had ripened. The first of the season! One of the true tastes of summer. It is a mix of Sun Gold and Red Cherry but the red is not super bright. It was only about half a pound but that is a good start.

IMG_20210730_110132.jpg

12 cucumbers were ready with a couple wonky ones that are for us to eat. I have 50 listed for sale with 31 in the cooler already, I just need 19 more in the next few days, if I get orders for them.

IMG_20210730_110713.jpg

I got a text back from Carl verifying the 400 pounds weight of squash which meant I had to go through all of the bags to cull anything that had turned. I tossed the bad out the window into the chicken yard and after I finished checking every bag and all the squash I had only culled about 15 pounds. The birds had a field day with the squash. I also kept out some that is still okay for us to eat but not for sale so that came in the house. The bag ended up being all the yellow squash which have the worst shelf life compared to regular green zucchini.

IMG_20210730_141351.jpg
IMG_20210730_141355.jpg

Our neighbor is an ass and went and threw rocks back into the pool covering up the area where the crawdads live. I again removed the rocks and we made some chalk signs to inform them that there is life where they keep trundling rocks. I can say I have way more gumption than him and will make sure to keep the pool as is.

IMG_20210730_182841.jpg
IMG_20210730_182844.jpg
IMG_20210730_182848.jpg

You can't see it very well but it was the first bell pepper of the year. We stood in the garden and ate it between the two of us and it was delicious!

IMG_20210730_205305.jpg

Today it is supposed to be 106°F then the cool off happens to 96 Sunday then 86 on Monday and showers. I'll take the cool down but it looks like it will be streaming smoke from the south at us. Hopefully the rains clear the air some. I'm not looking forward to tonight though as it's to be 70 for a low which will make getting the house cool overnight a bit of a pain. This morning I have picking as per the norm, I need to get the pantry shuffled so I can move the freeze dryer in there to run it so I can close the door and not let the machine heat up the house, and try to do some more organizing to hopefully get ready to do the laminate flooring in our bedroom.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I am glad the order came in from the coop!

And I am glad I now have a porch for things like the dehydrators, getting the heat out of the house.