You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shape Of Moo

in ecoTrain2 years ago

It always amazes me that your diminutive form is able to handle those beasts so easily. I have long thought of a single beef to raise, not for milk but meat, but I have little desire to fortify the fenceline like would be required. It was hard enough to keep the goats in, at least the sheep don't test the fences the same.

Sort:  

Well my friend, I think part of the problem is I have no self-preservation instinct when it comes to livestock. My mom would often find me in the middle of a herd of horses or down amongst the cows, lol!

Goats are ridiculous when it comes to keeping them in. If I were ever to have goats again it would be in an open range in the scrub brush sort of scenario lol, just me, the herd, and a couple of LGD's. This is gonna crack you up, but my cows are kept in by 1 strand of hot wire. That said, I have had some athletic, pain in the butt ones that have been culled out of the herd. Every one that I have now is slow, chunky, good-natured, and super easy going. They don't test the fences and if they did/do get out, they would go to my dining room window and bawl at me.

We had katahdin hair sheep at one time, I enjoyed them a lot:) For some reason I can totally see you getting a steer at some point😊

I grew up with a pair of miniature donkeys, a standard and a mix, and they were a fun handful. I've run through all the smaller livestock but actually having a steer has been one of those fantastical types of thoughts. I'd love one as cows are pretty cool, it would just have to be a mellow one that wouldn't end up out on the higway charging at the on coming traffic. Or end up wandering through Chattaroy, there is a herd across the river he would likely try to find if he did.

Ahh, I love donks! They are way smarter than me though, so I have never owned one lol!

Eeee, you definitely don't want one of those athletic cows! A nice, slow, docile bovine that abhors getting its heart rate up seems about right. I did laugh and snortle a bit when I thought about you chasing an escaped beef through Chattaroy, that would be legend🤣

My grandparents had a herd of them, all standards and they were hilarious. One hell of a cacophony when they were all baying for food.

I don't relish the thoughts of trying to steer a steer across the 4 lanes of highway, LOL!

slow, chunky, good-natured, and super easy going

Just chiming in here. That. Sounds. Delicious.