Sort:  
 3 years ago  

wond3rful to see this! awesome job.. makes me wish i had more clay on my land .)
big hugs!

Aww thank you Alex. Perhaps you do. Have you tried the jar test?

Big hugs to you too dear friend. 💚🤗

Stunning! I am so impressed @holisticmom. This is all together ingenious! I love the old beehive for the composting toilet. We love our composting toilet. The effect of the bottles and broken tiles really is beautiful. And I love that you could feel a sense of satisfaction doing this as a family!

Aww thank you @buckaroobaby, it certainly was fun to build it. It's amazing what you can do with repurposed materials and I was really happy with how the tiles turned out. I'm hoping to got back there at some point this year and keeping my fingers crossed that it is still standing. My friend sent me a video last year of our land and it seemed to be holding up back then.

I'm glad you enjoyed the post. Have you guys built anything out of cob or unusual materials? 💚🤗

Outside of the usual chicken coops from all sorts of imaginary materials....sadly no...but I have saved up DOZENS of beautiful big green olive oil bottles over the years in the hope and expectation of that cob masterpiece. Watch this space

Love this so much. Would love to experiment in building a home from scratch with our own hands, but so many darn restrictions these days. It feels like everything needs permission, especially here in Australia. You can almost hear a voice from above saying "you can't do that!" for even thinking about it.

Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow, and you've been selected as this week's beneficiary recipient.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Aww thanks @minismallholding there are restrictions everywhere. In Spain, you can build a small outbuilding on farmland without paying for permission and a lawyer was looking into a loophole that would allow us to build with natural materials because there would be no fixed foundation. For the house we wanted to build (and haven't yet) we were advised to go ahead with the build and apply for retrospective planning.
We were lucky being in the middle of nowhere and our nearest neighbors were doing the same as us 2 km away. 🤗💚

Yes, there are always restrictions. Foolishly, though, I was under the illusion that Australia wouldn't be as bad as the UK, but discovered it's worse! You need a license for nearly everything! I'm sure they'll license breathing at some point...

I am thinking about building my house with the cob technique. Your publication has inspired me to make it happen. I also need to build a dry bathroom. If you have any digital guide to build with this technique and can share it I would appreciate it. May you continue to grow in your home.

I resonate with this so much as I've been on a parallel journey, starting from scratch on a piece of land that was nothing more than a slope on the hill. I lived in a tent for nearly two years as we went about building a shelter from mud, lime and other materials sourced from the land. Your build looks so rustic and charming and is so inspiring to see. There's something quite special living in a place you've built from scratch.