ECOSIA: Plant trees while you search the web

in ecoTrain4 years ago

So long on the internet and today I found out that there is an ecological search engine called Ecosia


Ecosia.jpg

Ecosia

I think I will start testing it from today, I found it very interesting I was looking for a little information and according to what I found it said that we can also help in the fight to protect the environment through a browser, How great, right?

Probably some of you had already heard it before but I had no idea, it was created in 2009, what have I been doing with my life that I had not heard about this before?

The search engine has a clear goal to donate 80% of its advertising revenue to tree planting programs, its initiative is to plant one billion trees in 2025.


IMG_20201105_003538.jpg

Currently we can see how many trees they have planted so far, we see the information every time we use our search engine

Using the browser is easy, you just have to access your page and voila, they also have an extension for Chrome to make it the default browser and of course they also have the mobile application.


Screenshot_2020-11-05-00-28-36-900_com.ecosia.android.jpg

As we all always have doubts, Ecosia publishes its monthly financial reports and tree planting receipts so that anyone can check them, it is their way of being transparent


IMG_20201105_003512.jpg

IMG_20201105_003521.jpg

Well, I never would have guessed that on a daily basis we can be helping save our planet using a browser.

Sort:  

I try to use Ecosia when I can but sometimes it doesn't give me the search results I want, I've also been using duckduckgo and dsearch/presearch where you can earn tokens for your searching

Oh, you always cool @chekohler so you already knew that! i had heard of presearch before and actually tried it for a short time

LOL I work as an SEO it’s my job to know all about search engines

 4 years ago  

Thank you for posting such great content to the ecoTrain community! Your post has been featured in our weekly WhatsUp curation. You can find it in the link below.

Why not stop by and check out some other great posts from the ecoTrain community and discover some new people on Hive!

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/what-s-up-sustainable-curation-from-the-ecotrain-community-on-hive-28

Thank you so much, it's a honor!! I will take a look ;)