You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The path to richness, part 9 - Be selfish; Dream big

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

This is an interesting post, I haven't read the others in the series as this is the first one I've seen. But, you make a good point about someone changing other people's lives. I've thought about that myself in the past.

If I had a million euros I'd buy a house and then go travelling. Be cool seeing some of the world. I'd try and be tactical though with it, setting up a business that I've had my mind on for a while. Once I start earning I'd be inclined to give jobs to people I know. That would probably be better than just handing them over money.

Without sounding greedy, a million in the grand scheme of things won't last that long, especially if you start handing it out for free.

Let's say for argument's sake, you have 20 friends and family you want to help out with some cash. You give each of the 10k, that's 200k gone and most of them I bet would look at that as not being enough as 10k from 1m doesn't seem like much.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Right, you make good arguments.
Besides, just handing out money might ruin their lives (addict people for example). Handing a rod rather than fish would be much better.
Enjoy your $1M once they come to you. 🙂

Yeah exactly a rod is better than a fish. I'd imagine one way of handing out money to someone, would be maybe investing in someone's idea if it was good. For some kind of percentage in their idea.

Haha thanks!