EcoTrain Question of the Week Season 8 # 2 | "What actions do you think are needed in your local area?"

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Valencia Lake - one of its neighbours -
An open-air "rubbish dump"


Water resource potential of the central zone of my beloved Venezuela

Source

A season that is going to take us deep into our inner world

Every day, at sunrise, I say this sentence:

"Grateful to be able to look at this new dawn and to be able to share with the Universe"

@marlenyaragua

It is my way of being grateful for a new day, for a new opportunity of life, for a new chance to be my best version as a spiritual being, as a human being and as a social being.

Greetings dear readers


This week I join the @ecotrain Community to answer the question of the week. This season is "action" and this week we are asked:

The Question is

'What actions do you think are needed in your local area?'

This week's question gives us the opportunity to say what is happening in our local environment. That environment can be the area where we work or the place where we live. I am going to share with you what happens where I live. I live in a community that has several industrial areas and a lake as neighbours. In fact, it is the second most important lake in my beloved Venezuela. However, it is the second largest reservoir of fresh water in my country and it is not available for human consumption or any other use due to its high level of contamination. Part of this contamination comes from very distant areas via its tributaries; another route of contamination is the leaching of polluting substances from the neighbouring landfill site and one of the causes of contamination is the amount of solid waste that reaches the lake via the various waterways.

What action can be taken to minimise this damage to our lake?

For years I have been very aware of this surface water body because it is an issue that has inspired me since I was very young to take many actions. When my children were in primary school, environmental brigades were formed to work in favour of our lake. Those actions in those days were of great benefit to our lake. This was because they were actions of participation of the whole community inspired by the actions of the Environmental Brigade which were actions carried out by children and adolescents accompanied by their parents, representatives and relatives, and even some teachers also joined in.

I want to carry out many actions so that the activity of the inhabitants of the community and even the management of the environmental management of the companies settled around our community, is of less negative impact on our lake. I know we can do it. We must be the example of what we want to be transformed. From that scenario, the first thing I do is not use detergents that can damage the waters of our lake since the entire sewer network of our city and surrounding cities are dumped into that body of water (many years ago, by a decision of someone who ignored the environmental damage it was going to cause, the entire sewer network of the city drains into the lake).

I would love for environmental planning to be the top priority in our community. It would transform this problem into a life opportunity to remedy, care for and preserve our lake. It would be extraordinary if our lake stopped being an environmental liability.

Another action that I do on a daily basis is to classify the solid waste generated at home. I classify glass, metal and plastic. I have the plastic containers that I can reuse for this purpose. I classify metallic materials and glass containers so that they can be reused by other people and I donate them for this purpose. Sometimes I barter or exchange. Everything that I am not going to reuse myself, I take out of the system and its disposal is carried out in strict harmony with the environment. Organic waste is transformed at home as it is deposited in a compost bin to produce organic fertilizer in different granulometry from those organic materials. I use that compost in my garden and in my potted crops.

From my actions, I am already part of the solution and I want to continue being part of the transformation in my community. However, it takes a lot of organization at the level of all the inhabitants to ensure that we all reach the same conclusion, which is none other than to generate the least negative impact on our lake.

It is an excellent possibility to motivate our children, adolescents and young people to be part of this feat of love, care and respect for Mother Earth, which will materialize in the environmental evaluation of our community and then in a beautiful community action dedicate ourselves to remedying, caring for and preserving our environmental heritage, which is life for us as human beings and for other living beings that cohabit with us. If I have to work hard to achieve this goal ... I do it with great pleasure and pleasure!

#Pachamama deserves it!

We are Energy ... Energy transforms!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(free version)

I invite you to subscribe to the Ecotrain Community and to participate in the question of the week to @mariaramos, @maykit55 and @manuelramos.

In this post is the Invitation.

It has been a pleasure to share with you the question of the week proposed by Ecotrain Community

Grateful for all the days lived

Photographs by @marlenyaragua

Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving comments


Until a next post

My networks and interactive platforms