ecoTrain Question Of The Week #11 - My answer to the question: You A 'Hugger Or A Shrugger' In These Pandemic Times?

in ecoTrain • 4 years ago

coronavirus-how-is-the-disease-affecting-dw-s-correspondents-dw-19-03-2020-1240710670586277889.webp
Image Source

You A 'Hugger Or A Shrugger' In These Pandemic Times?

It's not easy to answer because I believe I am in the middle. 😌
I pay attention of course but without exaggerating since in this period the virus is less aggressive.
I still don't have clear ideas on the whole matter, it seems to me an absurd almost unreal situation, then I think of the victims and in my country there were almost 35 thousand.
I live in a seaside town of 50 thousand inhabitants, 40 km from Rome, in Italy.
Mine was the first European country to face the pandemic and manage it. So the first week of March they locked us in our houses until early May when the grip loosened and we could slowly go out.
Now everything seems so far away and yet it was not a dream, we could only go out with a self-certification with our data and the place to be reached controlled by the police at the checkpoints scattered throughout the city.

I can't think about it, I shiver when I think I no longer had my freedom.

Anyway going back to today I always have the mask on my face but lowered under the chin, then when I cross some person I pull it up to the nose.😷
This is because it's still mandatory for us to bring the mask in closed places and where there are gatherings, which are also prohibited because you have to keep a distance of one meter between people.
But it's very hot! It is now summer and with the mask you sweat and do not breathe.
For the moment I avoid the crowded and closed places, I prefer the open spaces surrounded by greenery but this already before the covid.
But with family, parents and close friends I clearly don't respect the rules and YES, I admit it, we exchanged hugs and kisses. 😘
I don't know in your countries, but in mine there are at least a hundred infections every day for a total of about 14 thousand infections throughout Italy.
Compared to 3000 per day of a few months when there was the peak of covid infections, those of today seem irrelevant to us.

Or maybe we got used to the idea?

We are used to living with it now because the virus is less and less aggressive and the people hospitalized with symptoms are a thousand throughout Italy, less than 100 are in intensive care.
I would say that everything is going well.
But I certainly have no ideas for the future. I don't know if in autumn we will still risk getting infected with the covid.
I am so sorry for this situation not so much for me as for my teenage daughters 😢 who find themselves in the uncertainty of being able to have a normal life, we don't even know if they will be able to go to school in September or if there will be online lessons to avoid gatherings in the classes.
However, in September, I usually begin to strengthen the immune system of the whole family withnatural herbal supplements, to prepare us for the flu and seasonal colds.
Therefore in anticipation of a possible new pandemic we will try to strengthen our immune defenses so that our body can be ready to fight against the covid virus.
We hope.

I don't think we can do more, at least not just us citizens-consumers who are having to deal with disasters caused by our governments.
Sorry I don't want to be controversial, but if all the countries of the world continue to ignore that the environmental disaster is creating habitats favorable to the proliferation of viruses such as the covid, we will be forced to live with the mask and stay in lockdown more and more often.

This is not the world I want to live in.

I want to return to shake the hands with all the people I don't know and embrace all my friends, greet with a mega smile that is not covered by a mask, I want to be among so many people to listen to music or drink an aperitif without the fear of being infected by who knows what virus.

I want the world as I have always known it with the possibility of still being in time to make it greener and more eco-sustainable.

Thanks for stopping by here.💗

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

thanks for sharing.. its good to know how it is in Italy. a very touch feely culture normally,.. it must be very hard. like losing a cultural leg... i hope you get the world as you desire it <3

It's true, we have physical contact in our DNA, while we speak we use gesticulate and touch our interlocutor instead now we have to greet people with the elbow. It's a pain. 😱😊

True, this is not the kind of world we want to live because of way back years. The world is calmer and peaceful.

Our government here said that the classes will resume by August but through online. It won't be that fun to study anymore for young ones.

Unfortunately, the youngest are the ones who pay the most for the consequences of this pandemic. They must learn to live moments of isolation far from their peers. We hope to find a solution soon.😊