4 Critical Tools You Need When Living Off The Grid

in ecoTrain2 years ago

I am the proud parent of power tools! As I am working thru this break up with my partner, I am left with NO TOOLS, and that doesn't work very well with homesteading.

tools.png

Tools are extremely valuable when you have structures and trees to maintain, and also for pesky repairs. Unless you are living ultra-primitive, you will want these 4 tools in your toolbox.

1. Drill/Driver

I absolutely had to pick up an impact driver today. I am adding an interior lock to my tiny house and I am also installing a window. There are so many times that I need to drill a hole into something or install screws. I consider a drill or driver a necessity!

Why I chose the impact over the drill

The main reason I chose the impact is it is more lightweight and compact, which works well with my small frame. It also has more torque, and I think that could come in handy. There were also no Craftsman drills left.

I picked up this driver for $60. I'd say that is a pretty fair price, considering that it came with the battery.

tools-1.jpg

2. Sawzall/Reciprocating Tool

Oh man, I cannot tell you the amount of times I need to CUT stuff! Small limbs off trees, rope, metal, wire, wood, the list goes on and on.

I got this bad boy for $80, marked down from $120! I feel pretty good about that.

This is a critical tool for me to cut my window out, but I am unsure how I will cut the corners. I am not sure if I can get the sawzall started in the corners. If anyone has advice, please comment!

tools-2.jpg

3. Heavy Duty Duct Tape

I usually go with Gorilla Tape, but I am also a huge fan of 3M, so I thought I would give their heavy duty tape a shot. I am constantly taping stuff, probably because I don't know how to fix a whole lot of things (but learning!) and because it just works.

I like to use this kind of tapes on leaks, patching up holes, and sticking stuff together.

tools-3.jpg

  1. Chainsaw

I do not own one yet, and I haven't really used one and am a bit nervous to. That is why I like the sawzall so much. Soon, it will be time to get a chainsaw to manage my trees and cut firewood. It is pretty much a necessity on my property, and if you have a lot of trees, you will find the same.

arrow-2.png

Boy, have I been busy!

Here is my new home, the tiny house, aka 9x12 shed! It's a very nice shed that I actually earned through trade, working for an elderly woman. It has a tin roof, and a finished floor.

tools-4.jpg

There is no insulation, so I am thinking of one day getting some spray insulation for it. However, the climate here is pretty mild so I am not too concerned right now.

I have been raking up gravel from on of the roads and am graveling all around the shed to reduce dust and mud.

I installed weather stripping around the door. I have two vents toward the top of the shed, which should provide enough oxygen.

I have been working on fixing my Mister Buddy indoor propane heater, as I don't think electric heat is quite going to cut it.

tools-5.jpg

arrow-2.png

I haven't been posting nearly as much, because I have been in full gear getting my new living arrangements set up. However, I am working back up to getting on here more often.

I also have BIG PLANS that I am so excited to share with you all! But I am not quite ready yet, so follow me to stay tuned for my big updates!

Help support my off grid endeavors by making purchases from my Etsy Store.

Right now, I have over 30 kinds of heirloom seeds for sale, and will be adding more off grid stuff soon.

Peace and Love.

Regina Cal.

regina-square-250.jpg

Sort:  

I'm not so much a fan of duct tape for most popular purposes. It deteriorates under UV and leaves a nasty residue. But when you do need it, nothing else is quite as good! Twine, baling wire, and fishing line get used a lot to secure various things, too.

!PIZZA

I agree, the heavy duty tape can leave some nasty residue. I use it in a pinch, which seems to be a lot these days lol! I almost want to make a 100 tools list for off grid living, because I can think of so much more. Maybe I will do that.

And thanks for joining the Off Grid Agorist discord. It is kind of crickets over there for now. But it will get more active over time.

Well, I can always make a lot more noise if you like.

The way I do it is drill a 3/4" or 1" hole (large enough for the saw blade to fit) in the corner so that you can insert the saw blade and you should be able to get you opening cutout without any problem.
Here is a link to a YouTube video (

you can see what I am talking about at the 4:34 mark.
BTW I have no affiliation or even know anything about the young man in the video, it is just one I googled real quick.
Hope that helps ;) !LUV

Oh wow, this is a GREAT idea! Thanks, I think I will use this technique!

Glad I could help ;)

I actually did the technique. And it worked really well. Thanks again for the tip!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jacobtothe(1/5) tipped @queenmountain (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @queenmountain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

you are a beautiful and hardworking lady, am surprised you actually handled those machines all by yourself, trust me that little house you got there is really beautiful would you mind showing me the interior part of the house?

I also have BIG PLANS that I am so excited to share with you all! But I am not quite ready yet, so follow me to stay tuned for my big updates!

can't wait for that big updates!! please be ready for it now you informed us hehe.

I just made a new post with a pretty good walkthrough of the interior. Check it out!

untitled.gif

Thanks for this info🙏👍

@queenmountain! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @germangenius. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Heheheh, yes, I sure am! And doing well.