Fascinating Nature

in ecoTrain2 years ago

I would have to say that the most amazing and memorable experiences I've had with nature were when I was a child. It's hard for me to remember exactly how old I was, but I can still recall being around five years old and spending all day in our backyard playing.

We lived on a small farm outside of town and we had lots of space to run and play. My brother and I used to build tree houses in the trees surrounding our house and play hide-and-seek among the leaves. Sometimes, we'd even pretend that we were pirates and explore the woods looking for buried treasure. We'd also go out into the fields and make frogs and tadpoles part of our games. One time, we found a huge snapping turtle and decided to catch it and take it home as a pet. After a while though, we just couldn't keep it because it kept getting bigger and bigger. Eventually, we had to let it go back into the wild.


source

When I think about those days now, they seem so long ago. As an adult, I'm not sure if I could do what we did then. But at least I know that there are children who still get to experience such things today.

I remember one particular day when I was around seven years old. I was walking through our woods behind our house and I came across a large black snake. I wasn't afraid of snakes at all; actually, I kind of liked them. So, I picked up this big black snake and carried it with me for a little while. When I got tired of carrying it around, I put it down and watched it slither away. I guess you could say that I grew attached to it. As I walked along, I thought about how cool it would be to have a pet snake like that.

There are many things I find amazing and memorable about nature, but perhaps the most amazing thing I've ever experienced was when I was living in southern California. It was a beautiful day and I decided to take a walk along the beach. I walked until I reached a point where the ocean met the sand. There, I stopped and looked out over the ocean. The sun was shining brightly, and the waves were gently crashing against the shore. For some reason, I felt really calm and peaceful. That's when I noticed a man standing next to me. He was wearing shorts and a T-shirt, and he seemed to be staring out toward the water. At first, I didn't pay much attention to him, but then I realized that his eyes were closed and he was meditating.

He stayed there for quite a while before finally opening his eyes and looking around. Then, he turned to face me and said, "Do you mind if I join you?"

"Of course not," I replied.

We stood there for a few minutes before I asked him if he wanted to share his thoughts. He smiled and said, "Yes."

I listened as he told me about how he had been traveling around the world for the past year. During that time, he had visited many places, including China, India, South America, and Africa.

"Have you seen any amazing things during your travels?" I asked.

"Oh yes," he replied. "In fact, there was something very interesting that happened to me in India last week."

Then, he began telling me about a group of people who live in the jungle near the Ganges River. They are known as the Bishnoi tribe. Their beliefs are based on a code of ethics that includes non-violence, cleanliness, and respect for life.


source

The Bishnois believe that animals have souls, and that they should be treated with kindness and compassion. In order to protect their sacred cows from poachers, the Bishnois have formed a militia that patrols the area and protects the animals.

"You mean they hunt poachers?" I asked.

"No," he replied. "They don't kill anyone. Instead, they capture the poachers and bring them to justice."

As he spoke, I couldn't help but admire these people. They were protecting their animals without killing or hurting anyone. And they were doing it in a way that was completely nonviolent.

After listening to him tell me about this amazing tribe, I was thinking about how much I wished I could visit their village someday. I was also wondering why more people weren't aware of what they were doing. I wanted to learn more about them, and I wanted to help spread the word.

image.png
source

I have always loved to watch the sunrise. As soon as I wake up in the morning, I try to spend a few moments watching the sky lighten and the birds begin to sing.

It's not just the beauty of the sunrise that I enjoy, though. I feel that it's a good way to start the day. Whenever I see the sunrise, I'm reminded of how fortunate I am to be alive. I also think about how lucky I am to be able to experience all of the wonderful things that nature has to offer.

And I've come to realize that there's a lot to appreciate in the natural world. Even after all of the pollution and destruction that humans have caused, there are still many places where we can experience nature in its purest form. I'm grateful for that.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yes I have heard that Vishnois love and protect animals or even go out of the way to fight with hunters and encroachers. Nice to know about your love for nature and animals!

23tGXZkQoLUXwgqBduahB1LsiD7goYLrgpBghyQ5hKfNC3Y4igPrrJLdBdkGTho7L6tyb.png

I loved the woods as a child and still do at 50. I have made sure to surround myself with them all of my life. Add some mountains and water and I will never leave.

 2 years ago  

The Bisnois are kind, I must say. These are people who respects animals and their feelings and protect them from being harmed.
Wait, you mean you carried a big black snake while you were young and carried it around you for a while? That´s weird because snakes, they say are dangerous, but it mazes me that you weren´t hurt. It sounds amazing too. Nature is indeed natural and wonderful. One feel calm and experience peace within being around nature.