Creativity as a Healing Intervention and Spiritual Connection

in ecoTrain2 years ago

I have always found forms of creativity to be very healing, and a great way of working through and processing thoughts and emotions. Similarly it can create a deeper connection with the earth and our divine essence. At different points in my life; when I have been through the most adversity and personal trauma; I have found that at some points I struggled to find a suitable intervention or outlet for healing; to fit into my busy life or that my mental health would even allow me to do.

However, whenever I have really pushed myself to work on personal healing, and ensure that I actually release any emotions; rather than burying them, and just ignoring them and closing off, I have found I can actually eventually achieve personal growth despite going through adversity.

A couple of years ago; when my youngest son (just two years old at the time) was diagnosed with a rare childhood cancer; obviously it came as a complete shock. To start with it was so overwhelming that I couldn't do much at all; other than concentrate on the immediate tasks and essentials. Eventually though; I found my own way of coping.

I had written poetry previously during other difficult periods of my life, and this came to mind. On my most difficult days, when the idea came to me, I would force myself to sit outside in the fresh air with a notebook and pen.

writing.jpg

After a few minutes I was often inspired to write about how I was feeling. Sometimes the thoughts would initially be more dark and heavy. After some time though; I seemed to find a way of working through that, and began to organise my thoughts and feelings; looking for any blessings and focussing on anything positive in my life. Being in nature itself was sometimes healing enough to lift my energy to be able to write. Other times I would use healing crystals, energy clearing sprays or a spiritual connection with oracle cards, to help create an initial level of healing; to then be capable of releasing thoughts and feelings through writing.

crystals etc.jpg

I found I could more easily write inspired poetry and prose. Other times I would have the urge to paint my angelic and spiritual paintings, but I must admit that when at my lowest; I couldn't quite motivate myself to do that; as it seemed more effort than sitting with a notebook and pen.

painting.jpg

I have gathered my poetry written over recent years into a healing collection, and am looking forward to releasing it in the near future. I feel the words may help others on their spiritual or healing journey.

I have a lot more to share on other Applied Positive Psychology interventions and spirituality; but for now I will leave it there. But I will also try to inspire you to be creative as a way to heal through personal trauma or connect more spiritually; by posting one of my recent poems here for you to enjoy:

A Fraction in Time

We’re here but a moment in time,
A blink of an eye or a kiss;
What memory do you want to create?
Before you float off to bliss.

Will you focus on visions of joy?
To take with you for eternity.
Appreciate the sounds, colour and light?
Embrace the unexpected; enjoy uncertainty?

Are you ready to open up to magic?
Be present; awaken your soul?
Understand the deeper meanings;
See the universe has a goal?

Some things really can’t wait.
Certain words to be shared;
Experiences to hurry along,
Feelings that need to be aired.

The last thing any of us want,
Is to regret what we haven’t done.
Once we return to that divine spark;
And all of those chances are gone.

I look forward to sharing more in the near future and thanks for reading. All written content and images are my own and copyright to myself.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The last thing any of us want,
Is to regret what we haven’t done.
Once we return to that divine spark;
And all of those chances are gone.

I really admire your strength and your talent. I can’t begin to fathom what it must be like to find out that your child is dreadful ill. Words, like nature do have the power to heal, and your words are inspiringly beautiful. Keep strong and focused, although I know it must be very difficult for you. Also, keep writing, you have so much to offer ❤️😊🤔 Thank you for posting in the EcoTrain

img_5041.png

Thank you so much for your appreciation, encouragement and support. I will definitely keep writing and sharing; I have just been struggling to find my audience so it's great to get some response 🙂 Thankfully my son is doing so much better now and just having regular scans and reviews; although obviously even as a parent going through such a trauma it takes a considerable time to fully recover. I didn't see this weeks nature theme in the community initially; but just to add that nature has definitely been one of the biggest healers for me throughout this time; and my son also really enjoyed connecting with trees to lift him, so I have many pictures of him throughout his treatment standing next to trees and smiling 😊

 2 years ago  

❤️💐❤️💐❤️❤️ 🌳 🌲 🌳💓💕

 2 years ago  

I really appreciate your efforts in overcoming challenges and bad times and deriving the habit of been happy regardless of the situation at hand which is really awesome and I appreciate that so much. Discovering oneself is very important in situations like this in other for it not to weigh one down. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @resiliencelouise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!