Ecotrain medicinal soup competition: Rice porridge @snownz008

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Porridge is a very popular dish in Vietnamese cuisine as well as in Southeast Asian countries. It is made of two main ingredients which are rice and water.

2.png

It is not a dish, it is my childhood. In my memory, I didn’t like porridge. I even hated it a lot. How come?

I was born underweight. My body’s defense failed to overcome the cold, flu, and many other common sicknesses during change of seasons and all year round to be exact. Every single time I got ill or just under the weather, my mom treated me with porridge.

2.anh1.png

A compelling reason is she believes porridge is a medicinal soup. I am not sure but I have to amid that she was right on this spot (haha moms have experience). I felt better after having a bowl of porridge and pills. Therefore, I quickly recovered in a few days or a week.

My brothers and sisters told me that she had to have porridge more than me, not because of sickness, it was hunger. Porridge produces a bigger volume than cooked rice and is easy to feed more people.

2. chao ga1.jpg

Porridge is seasoned with salt, fish sauce, and pepper. It is served with chopped spring onion and chopped purple perilla leaves. Its operating principle is to use heat (from herbs and spice) to fight cold, to restore energy by balancing yin-yang. This concept in Chinese philosophy is about dualism.

IMG_1920.JPG

Moreover, loss of appetite happens during the period of sickness. I was not eager to eat anything. Chewing and digesting heavy food like meats also cost some energy which is limited in that situation. No worry! Porridge is a liquid food and light in seasoning so it is a gentle choice for my stomach. My body, by that way, absorbs nutrition easier.

2. chao trung.jpg

To cook this simple dish, you need rice and water, as I stated above. I suggest jasmine rice for a better aroma. Not surprisingly the cost is near to nothing. This soup is costless, easy to cook, gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, and healthy. It suits a normal diet, vegetarian and vegan.
Do you think of trying at least once?

2.gao jasmine.jpg

I sometimes use leftover cooked rice to make porridge. Quality is still the same, but faster. If you use rice, soaking in water for half an hour to an hour may speed up the process. To make different variations, people may add chicken, pork mince, salted egg, fish, vegetable, etc…as demanded to suit their liking.

In Asian cooking, we don’t usually measure by weight, you know, by sense and estimation. Ok, I’ll write down the recipe in case you would like to give it a try.

2.333.png

Ingredients: (enough for 2)

  • 100g rice (recommend jasmine rice) or leftover cooked rice.
  • 1.5 - 2l water (can be adjusted)
  • Chopped spring onion (green part)
  • Chopped perilla leaves
  • Salt, pepper
  • Fish sauce (optional), indispensable in Vietnamese cuisine
  • Add on (optional): 1 egg/chicken/pork mince…

Method:

  • If you have a pressure cooker, chuck washed rice and water in and press the “Congee” button. Done! Season and enjoy!
  • If you have a rice cooker, wash rice and combine it with water. Check regularly until it’s cooked. Easy!
  • In case you don’t have both options above, you need a large pot, place in wash rice and water for half an hour.
  • Turn on medium heat and stir regularly to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the pot.
  • Once the water is boiling, simmer on low heat, remove the lid. Stirring every 10 – 15 minutes.
  • If you have a small pot, top-up more hot water when needed.
  • This is a kind of personal dish. You may add other ingredients to suit your taste, and adjust consistency thick or thin as well.
  • If you want an egg, crack an egg into your hot porridge, stir well and enjoy. Don’t worry, the egg will be cooked by the heat.
  • Ladle into bowls and top with herbs.

Now I am thousands of miles away from my hometown, away from my family, a bowl of hot porridge is all I need on cold rainy days when I don’t feel very well.

Hope you can use this recipe to strengthen your health. Take care!

Footer Hive.png

All pictures are my own
Some pictures and banner designed by Canva

Sort:  

Interesting recipe, I might give it a shot :) Also, you took some really great photos of it. To me, food photography is one of the most difficult photo categories but you make it look super easy :) Good job!

@tipu curate

Thank you so much @phortun!
Hope you enjoy porridge! 😀 Photography is not easy to me in general. Being a chef, I want my food to be in the best present. Kind of obsess 😄

Hôm trước mới nt nói dung nấu chánh hành 😂 là dễ nhất @dora381
Một món đơn giản mà nhìn xịn sò thế này rồi :) Hóng nhiều món nữa CHEF ơi :))

hehehe đơn giản vẫn là nhất em nhé!

Hehe ở đấy Nhung nấu thì nhìn ngon thế, hwa bảo nấu mỗi cháo với hành ko sợ ko ngon, xong Uyên nó bảo đập thêm quả trứng vào

Tớ có làm một bát cháo trứng đấy. Cứ nấu cháo trắng rồi thêm gì vào cũng được mà :)

Uh, đúng nhỉ. Đọc bài c viết mới nhớ ra là có thể cho thịt bằm nhỏ vào cũng được :) Lại thành cháo thịt bằm với hành mà có thêm cả tía tô nữa là chuẩn vị

Đúng rùi cậu. Đang mưa gió rét mướt thế này, có khi mai thử luôn í :)

ôi món cháo thần thánh của người Việt ta. haha. hình chị chụp nhìn món cháo đơn giản lại trở nên hấp dẫn nè

Congratulations @snownz008! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yayy I did it! I am eager for new challenges!

Here is a new challenge for you @snownz008:

It would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147
Thank you! 😀

Yes I did. Hope my small support help!

Thank you @snownz008 😊👍

It looks so yummy <3

Yesss it does taste awesome, right?

😍 món cháo thần thánh trị cảm hạ sốt luôn đây

Đúng rồi á, món cháo quốc dân luôn, không chỉ trị cảm mà cứ bị ốm là được ăn cháo hoài à :))

 3 years ago  

Thank you for participating in the ecoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition! You have been awarded $25 HBD as a prize which you can now find in your wallet.

You can see the tie up post and check out the other recipes at the link below:
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/ecotrain-medicinal-cooking-competition-dollar250-awarded-in-prizes-and-tie-up-post

We hope to see you next time! Have a great weekend! x <3

Awesome! Thank you!
It will be great encouragement for me to post more on ecotrain :)