I have no idea how this happened

in ecoTrain3 years ago (edited)

Some how, some way my Akebia vine has grown through one of my Canna leaves. I did not do this, and I am really scratching my head how this happened.

Maybe hail during our storms punched a hole in the Canna leaf and the vine was in just the right place to go right through. My Comfrey got little holes punched in them this year due to some small hail so its very possible so did the Canna.

Since then it has winded its self up the Canna and the vine is over 10 feet long.

Or maybe the vine pierced the leaf, as this vine can be quite invasive sometimes.

This Akebia vine is new to my garden, being a "Shirobana" cultivar it will produce white flowers. The common Akebia produces pinkish purple flowers, I am hoping with the two I will get fruit.

In a few months the Canna will die back to the ground as the frosts turn the soft stems into mush. Around that time I will do my best to keep the vine from being crushed by the falling plant. As the Akebia vine will stay alive through the winter, in a dormant state.

Sort:  

Man that is really cool and I have a feeling the tip somehow worked its way through and then just kept growing.

Personally when that day comes that the plant dies I would just cut it off to save the Vine.

Awesome symbiosis and photography thank very much for posting this content.

Yeah it is pretty cool, maybe it did.

Ah no problem, glad you enjoyed it.

Beautiful Photographies ! 😍

hah thanks

With the look of things and the pictures you have here. Those holes are becoming more bigger daily which pave more way for the other plant to have access to it and enter the hole. If you can redirect the vine stem and branches. It may be of help. Sorry for this........

Yeah I plan on trying to unwind it before our frosts show up.