A "Normal" Haul + 5 Curb-Salvaged Items Diverted From Landfills Sold For $790 (45 Pounds)

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

image.png

This stuff here was from one night of walking. There is much more to take, but you can see that I have to pick my spots since I live in a city apartment.

I hope my hustle inspires people to get up and do something. Based on how I sell and extract parts, it's over $800 worth of stuff above, of which $400 has been realized. The Staples card has $13 on it I'll use, and the earrings on the black box in front were gold.

*If you missed my first two posts since returning from a posting hiatus, they're linked below (10 items weighing 270 pounds sold for $3,884).



On with the sales show:

image.png

This LG vacuum set was found with a Dyson stick vac. This had a clog I resolved in minutes. It was sold for $200 cash to a guy who messaged me about a Dyson I'd just sold to someone else. I immediately upsold this and he came within 10 minutes since his wife had given him orders to get a vacuum ASAP. I really enjoy this specific scenario I see all too often.

Salvaged weight of 13 pounds.


image.png

This was the Dyson stick vac mentioned/shown above. It sold for $200. This included $30 for delivery at $5.50 subway cost. I felt that was a fair trade for my time. I had a hot streak of finding these, selling about 4-5 in a month, which will be shown in future posts.

Salvaged weight of 6 pounds 7 ounces.

Proof of both on the curbs:

image.png

Shot at 4:34 AM...


image.png

Mixing it up, this box of 49 treated and scented Venus Et Fleur roses sold for $100 cash. These are real roses that last around a year. They cost about $450 new, so while these were not fresh, they were good value for someone to give as a gift. This is the second set of these flowers I've saved and sold. The other was a smaller set of blue roses topping an acrylic jewelry case. I could've gotten a little more, but it was a time sensitive situation.

Salvaged weight of 2 pounds 15 ounces.


image.png

This air purifier was sold for $140 cash. I found it with a second one that had a loud motor, but this and the filter were fine. I've salvaged and sold a bunch of these over the years. Since their filters last for many years, I need to make sure that it hasn't picked up any odors. When they do, the filter sadly needs to be put back outside. I can sell the empty unit for ~$100 on eBay though since it's fairly light by itself.

Salvaged weight of 19 pounds 12 ounces.


image.png

Lastly, this was one of two Fender Telecaster guitar necks I found taped together. This sold online for $150 within 24 hours to a guy rebuilding an older guitar. I tested the truss rod to make sure it wasn't stripped and made sure it wasn't warped. It'd easily have sold for $200, but it accidentally fell when I had it leaning up on a railing outside when grabbing some packaging materials at the VERY end of my walk. Two spots got scraped up. Damn. Better than being crushed on a truck though!

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 3 pounds 1 ounce.



Stats:

  • 5 Items Sold For $790 = $158 average per item
  • 81% received as cash
  • 45 pounds saved
  • Repair Costs: $0
  • Other Costs: $5.50 for two subway rides to deliver the Dyson

**Thousands upon thousands of pounds saved over the years. Please let this motivate you to save a few pounds today.


If you're seeing my recycling post for the first time, the “value” in it isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I show as saved/sold. It's from the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit offline to produce items for posts, and my goal of motivating others to address our global waste problem.

I'm personally diverting all of this from our waste processing centers and landfills.

Thanks as always for your interest and support.

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle. If you aren't able, then donate them to shelters, churches, or thrift stores.

**Please follow my new account on Instagram. Enough of my friends pushed me to join and I can use the boost.

My Other New Active Posts For More:

Thank you,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Design with end of life in mind.👀👌🧠

Epic work brother!

Thanks. Stay tuned for plenty more.

Geez, another mind-blowing haul. I actually am double impressed, because I didn't know you were in an apartment before, I always figured you must be in a house with a garage or basement for storage!
The roses are wild! Why would people fork over so much for year-long roses only to get tired of them and throw them away?!

If I had more storage, my impact would be far greater. It's a tight-wire act in my place to balance living and inventory. It's the price I pay for freedom.

I see fresh flowers in the garbage. Sometimes it could be from a breakup or perhaps these rich clowns grow tired of the color.