You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ecotrain's Question of the Week - The Rational Behind (Not) Having Kids

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Thank you for the series recommendation, @misslasvegas . I'll make sure to check it out. Seems like it deals with Northern Ireland in the (second half of the) 20th century. And certainly, if you were not taught to be afraid of something, it doesn't scare you. Which for me is the best reason not to watch the news.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

True, that's a very good reason to not watch the news. I have stopped doing that a very long time ago. I've never really watched it to be honest. Or read 'news' papers. And I'm a journalist! Haha. I remember hating it when my dad insisted to turn the TV channel to the news, at least 3 times a day. As if the news changes a lot in a few hours...I guess I detested that so much, that it made me turn off the news completely.
It's a good thing.

Yeah, that series is definitely worth it. Sometimes it's funny, and over the top even. But it gives a good picture of how teens were in that time during 'the troubles'. It didn't trouble them too much even when it hit home.
I remember that in that time, I wondered about kids in Ireland, how they'd cope with so much brutality and death. Well, now I know.