You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EcoTrain QOTW - Who Are the Most Relevant People of the Time (to you)

in ecoTrain3 years ago

It's such a strange world right now isn't it? I have met some friends a few times during the last months, but they have now left to UK and will probably not be back before baby 2 is born in August. For the rest, things are quite boring outside of the household to be honest, especially now it seems that hotels/cinemas and I believe (if not misunderstood) that pools etc will only be available for those with a vaccine. Which I'm not going to get. I'm gonna try to get an immunity cert so at least we wont get stuck all summer.

For me personally, it's not too bad, I will survive but for the kiddo, it kind of sucks. Thankfully, we now have a car so we can also seek outdoor stuff a lot easier.

I wish I could say the same about meeting up with locals and learning the language, I'm honestly only focused on upping my Spanish as we plan on moving back to Spain next year the latest. I feel there's a much better sense of community where we lived there, compared to all places we lived here, I think Portugal must be similar. (never been there though, it's on the list)

Enjoy connecting!

Sort:  

It certainly has been tough the last 18 months, it's such a relief things getting back to normal.

Not keen on getting that vaccine myself!

Where abouts are you? in the UK>?

I wish I could say the same, as last summer we didn't have to wear these masks here outside, but this time it's been a mandatory thing for months already, lost count about the months honestly. Must have been somewhere beginning of this year that they added that things to the list. I said last year: I will die if they force us to wear these outside, imagine that with 30+ degrees.. And here we are, all winter with mask has passed, which was doable until a certain point, but still I don't agree with it as I really get dizzy and feel that I don't have enough oxygen..

Now it's May already, and they still didn't drop that mandatory mask wearing outside. I feel sick thinking about the fact that we may be wearing them all summer. Let me tell you that I will avoid crowded areas and seek nature instead. In green areas we can walk without them, Eastern Europe. I believe UK is currently a lot better so my friend told me (she's in the UK now).

I'm 99% sure I had covid a few months ago, and before I got ill, my boyfriend was ill. A lot less than me, but he was the first to get ill. So I'm quite confident that when we get the antigen test it should show that we had it already, this will give us the opportunity to get the immunity certificate valid for 4 months, which I prefer over the vaccine any day.. When we move back to Spain at some point, we will most likely need to get it anyway (but not going to worry about that now, as we can't foresee what will happen exactly anyway)

Sounds horrible, I think avoiding those crowded areas is the way to go.

If you need to shop just do so as early as possible!

Yeah, I always try to. Once the temp rises and the supermarkets / stores are packed with people, it's instantly noticeable that there's a lack of oxygen in the malls, making you dizzy with the mask covering your face. During winter, it was not that horrible as it is now.. So yeah, avoiding crowded areas and being early is a must :)